Hill of Crosses (Kryžių Kalnas), Lithuania

in GEMS4 years ago

Quite some years ago, I visited a strange place. To me at least, it felt very different.

It was my first or second visit to Lithuania, and a friend had told me that the Hill of Crosses was a place I should see. Not only for the special meaning it holds to the Lithuanian people, but also for the fact that it is a very photogenic place. Since I lugged around all my photo equipment in a backpack back then (and still sometimes do), it was an easy task to borrow a beat-up old car and just go. Which we did, and some of the results from the visit you can see here.

I don't consider myself a very religious person, but that being said, I always feel a sense of awe and humility when entering a place of worship or remembrance. Churches, monasteries, temples and cemeteries always seem to be permeated by a sense of peace and tranquillity, not easily found in the hustle-and-bustle of the modern world. That sense was here, with a vengeance.

If you want to read more about Kryžių Kalnas, there's a fairly thin, but nevertheless informative, entry on Wikipedia.

Feel free to leave a comment or any constructive criticism in a comment below. Until next time, be safe and take care of each other.


Technical details:
Camera(s): Canon EOS 300
Lens(es): unknown
Film(s): Fujicolor 200
Exposure data: unknown
Date(s): Early 2000's
Location(s): Kryžių Kalnas, Lithuania
Scanner: Epson Perfection V700
Scanner software: SilverFast
Post-processing: Photoshop, Lightroom
Note: I need to re-scan these at some point, the ICE clearly did not do it's job well enough.


Link to my "published" music: Soundcloud
Unless stated otherwise, photos/designs/music/etc. in this post are by me.
I vote @pharesim for witness.