This is weird techno and some other thoughts

in GEMS3 years ago

You can hear and watch the thing down here and later you can read a short story about it c:

I told myself I would not put here a useless screenshot of something that I haven't talk about deeply(by now)

But if you saw the video and wondered "where is that beat with weird fast sounds coming from?, you are not even playing any drums or playing that fast notes on the keyboard"

Well, it comes from here: (useless screenshot that I told I would not post but I failed)

Tecno 145 .JPG

This weird thing is a software emulation of a modular synthesizer, and it's the source of every sound that I used in the video except the Electric guitar, bass, vocals and the coca cola bottle.

For making the beat I put myself into a technical trip where I use plenty of physic, logic and electronic Knowledge that I learned from the college and YouTube, to literally create raw sounds that will almost automatically play forever, to later transform and sync them with a clock and a recognizable key tone, for making music or other sound stuff.

Then I use my MIDI Keyboard, which has advantageous extra features like almost every midi keyboard but nobody actually use them

I map(Synchronize) these buttoms on my MIDI keyboard to control parameters and modulations on the software, and that's how I create structure and movement into the sounds I design with the Synth.

In this side.png

In that side of the screen, you see a video take of my playing LIVE the whole thing, just with a few buttoms of the keyboard controlling the software

Fun fact: when I recorded it, I didn't wanted to add other stuff like vocals or guitars, I just wanted to record it and make a 1 take video because I don't enjoy anymore editing audio on the DAW (A DAW its like audio photoshop)

But I was listening back, I improvised some random vocals lyrics and I said You son of a bitch, I'm in

The rest of the history, you know it. putting the master audio from the Synth to the DAW and doing some live takes.


I really hope you enjoy my weird experiments, i'm trying every day to get better and familiar with all kinds of musical genres!

c:

BTW I just realize that the screenshot it's not really useless, you could download the software (VCV rack) and copy all things you can see in the screenshot and maybe you will have the same sounds hehehehehehehe