You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sick of paying high fees with Bitcoin and Ethereum, come check out HIVE where transactions are FREE!

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

In theory sure. But if I am holding 100 HIVE and I want to send you 50 HIVE, it costs me nothing. As you pointed out, it burns some of my resource credits. Though I did not pay for them. I was allocated them based on the size of my holding.

Sort:  

Network fees and resource credits still serve the same purpose, to stop people from sending infinite amount of transactions in short period of time. Although it is only a problem with coins that have short block time and unlocking time. Unlocking time being the time between sending the coins (to oneself) and being able to send them again.

Resource credits and HIVE Power are linked like Ethereum and gwei... You get resource credits allocated by balance of HP and you get gwei allocated by conversion rate of ETH-gwei depending on network utilization.

You can run out of resource credits just like a transaction can run out of gwei even if same transaction would succeed at any other moment using same "fee".