The Broad Majestic Shannon - Hive Open Mic 17 - Reach Out

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Hey Open Family

This week for the reach out week Im singing one of my favorite songs.Its called The Broad Majestic Shannon and it was written by Shane McGowan of The Pouges

week 17.png

The reason I chose this song for the week is the chorus...

"Take my hand and dry your tears babe ,take my hand forget your fears babe. There's no more pain there's no more sorrow , there all gone , gone in the years babe."

Its the only song I thought might fit the theme which is good as I love singing this song and I love the way it is written.

"The Broad Majestic Shannon"
Shane McGowan

The last time I saw you was down at the Greeks
There was whiskey on Sunday and tears on our cheeks
You sang me a song as pure as the breeze
On the road leading up Glenaveigh

I sat for a while at the cross at Finnoe
Where young lovers would meet when the flowers were in bloom
Heard the men coming home from the fair at Shinrone
Their hearts in Tipperary wherever they roam

Take my hand, and dry your tears babe
Take my hand, forget your fears babe
There's no pain, there's no more sorrow
They're all gone, gone in the years babe.

I sat for a while by the gap in the wall
Found a rusty tin can and an old hurley ball
Heard the cards being dealt, and the rosary called
And a fiddle playing sean dun na ngall

And the next time I see you we'll be down at the Greeks
There'll be whiskey on Sunday and tears on our cheeks
For it's stupid to laugh and it's useless to bawl
About a rusty tin can and an old hurley ball

Take my hand, and dry your tears babe
Take my hand, forget your fears babe
There's no pain, there's no more sorrow
They're all gone, gone in the years babe.

So I walked as day was dawning
Where small birds sang and leaves were falling
Where we once watched the row boats landing
Down by the broad majestic shannon

Where we once watched the row boats landing
Down by the broad majestic shannon

Sort:  

Thank you for joining in and enjoying Hive Open Mic

Every time I see and hear your live music videos my first response is: "Yes." I like your vibe, man. You're so down to earth. And I appreciate the way your easygoing nature finds its way into your music. Fun song here too, complete with pleasant words and whistles. Love it.

That is incredibly encouraging Cabe :) Thanks man I've been feeling kinda down today this picked my spirits back up.