Unveiling My Social Adventure: Navigating Friendships and Work Life (EN-ES)

in GEMS2 months ago

What a Social Adventure I've Got Here!

special.png

Breaking the Ice: My New Work Life

It's been about a year and a half since I dived into a new gig. Like I've told you before, I'm one of those who don't just babble without something meaningful to say. It's not that I'm trying to be all mysterious; it's just, why waste words if it's not necessary? I'm not interested in being liked just for the sake of it, and it doesn't bother me if I'm not everyone's cup of tea.

Two Sides of the Coin

And of course, having this "if you talk, I'll listen; if not, then not" attitude has its ups and downs. Though, to be honest, for me, it's mostly ups. I save myself from drama, disappointment, and anger because, let's face it, how can someone let you down if you haven't even given them the chance to do so? For someone to really get on my nerves, they'd have to climb Everest without oxygen first, meaning, they'd have to earn my trust big time, and folks, that's no easy feat.

To the Point: My Social Superpowers

Social Detective on the Lookout

Let's cut to the chase, or I'll ramble on forever. I've got this kind of radar, a sixth sense for "reading" the people around me. I need no more than five minutes to map out who's who. And yes, it might sound cocky, but I'm rarely wrong. So, when I landed in this company, in no time at all, I had everyone pegged.

The Start of an... Unexpected Friendship?

Out of all the staff, there was one, just one, with whom I thought there might be a connection. But in this world full of surprises, there's always someone who wants to break the ice in their own way.

Where There's Smoke...

Enter the "Friend"

It didn't take long for a colleague to try and cozy up, following that worn-out strategy of badmouthing others to score points. And there I was, listening to this soap opera, thinking, "I've heard this plot before." This kind of behavior, my friends, is exactly why I'm the social hermit I am today.

The Soap Opera Unfolds

Taking a Chance Against All Odds

Despite my antisocial superpowers, I decided to give this person a chance, nudged by a mate. "Let's see what happens," I thought, crossing my fingers that my sixth sense would take a holiday for once. But who are we kidding? A couple of months in, the situation exploded like a piñata at a kid's party.

Pack Leader and Confirmation of My Theory

Turns out, in every herd, there's a leader, and in our office, the "alpha" didn't take long to show his approach: trying to look good in front of his pack at any cost. My reaction was swift, and from that day on, communication with said specimen was permanently left on read.

When the Office Turns into a Battlefield

Just when I thought I had seen it all, the plot takes a soap opera twist. A few months later, I found out through the grapevine that a certain someone had gone sobbing to the boss. The reason? Apparently, my mere existence caused them anxiety. Yes, friends, my very presence was like a psychological thriller to someone 🤣. But that's not all; the story gets even juicier. It turns out that someone had been up to no good, rifling through my drawers and pulling out papers where I had noted down some business ideas (we'll dive into this topic some day; it's enough material for many chapters). And me, always being one step ahead, thought: Were they trying to get me fired? Obviously, because I'm straightforward, because I don't back down to anyone, because I'm authentic, and because I don't let anyone manipulate me. And most importantly, because I knew too much, and for some, it was better to keep me at a distance. Remember, I have tangible proof of everything they said among themselves, in their attempts to get close. Evidence that, if brought to light, would wreak havoc, the real kind ;)

Reflections of a Lone Wolf

kami.png

Living Outside the Herd

All this has done is confirm what I already knew: better alone than in bad company. While the rest play at being popular in a world of facades, I keep to my own, enjoying the few but true friendships, aiming to leave a mark for what I am, not what I pretend to be.

Wrapping Up

I won't bore you any longer; this could turn into a trilogy. I'll just leave you with a nugget of wisdom, that phrase that guides me day by day:

"Don't trust blindly, avoid the social circus, be authentic, be different, and above all, be happy. Live each day as if it were your last, not out of drama, but out of intensity. And when your time comes, let it be with your head held high, knowing you've left something good in this world."

Enjoy life, your life! 😉

VERSION EN ESPAÑOL

¡Vaya Aventurilla Social que me Traigo!

special.png

Rompiendo el Hielo: Mi Nueva Vida Laboral

Hace ya como año y medio, que me lancé a la piscina empezando en una empresa nueva. Como ya os tengo dicho, soy de esos a los que les cuesta soltar palabra si no hay nada de peso que decir. No es que quiera ir de misterioso ni mucho menos, pero ¿para qué gastar saliva si no es necesario? No me interesa caer bien por caer bien, ni me quita el sueño si a alguien no le molo.

La Doble Cara de la Moneda

Y claro, tener esta actitud de "si me hablas te escucho, si no, pues no" tiene lo suyo, tanto bueno como no tan bueno. Aunque, siendo sinceros, para mí es casi todo ventajas. Me ahorro dramas, decepciones y enfados porque, vamos, ¿cómo te va a fallar alguien a quien ni siquiera le has dado paso a que lo haga? Para que alguien me toque las narices, antes tiene que haber escalado el Everest sin oxígeno, es decir, haberse ganado mi confianza a pulso, y eso, amigos, no es moco de pavo.

Al Grano: Mis Superpoderes Sociales

Detective Social a la Vista

Vamos al lío, que me enrollo. Tengo esta especie de radar, un sexto sentido para "leer" a la gente que me rodea. No necesito más de cinco minutitos para hacerme un mapa mental de quién es quién. Y sí, puede sonar a chulería, pero es que no me suelo equivocar. Así que, cuando aterricé en esta empresa, en menos que canta un gallo, ya tenía a todos fichados.

El Inicio de una Amistad... ¿Inesperada?

De entre todo el personal, hubo uno, solo uno, con el que pensé que podría haber feeling. Pero claro, en este mundo lleno de sorpresas, siempre hay alguien que quiere romper el hielo a su manera.

Cuando el Río Suena...

Aparece el "Amigo"

No tardó en aparecer un compañero intentando hacer migas, siguiendo esa estrategia tan manida de hablar pestes del de al lado para ganar puntos. Y ahí me tenéis, escuchando el culebrón, pensando: "Este guión ya me lo sé". Este tipo de comportamientos, amigos míos, es lo que me hace ser el ermitaño social que soy hoy en día.

El Desenlace de la Novela

Dando una Oportunidad Contra Todo Pronóstico

A pesar de mis superpoderes antisociales, decidí darle una oportunidad al susodicho, empujado por un colega. "Vamos a ver qué pasa", me dije, cruzando los dedos para que mi sexto sentido esta vez estuviera de vacaciones. Pero, ¿quién engaña a quién? Al cabo de un par de meses, la cosa estalló como una piñata en cumpleaños infantil.

Líder de Manada y la Confirmación de mi Teoría

Resulta que en todo rebaño hay un líder, y en nuestra oficina, el "alfa" no tardó en mostrar su estrategia de acercamiento: intentar quedar bien delante de su tropa a costa de lo que sea. Mi reacción no se hizo esperar, y desde ese día, la comunicación con dicho espécimen quedó en visto permanente.

Un Giro Inesperado

Cuando la Oficina se Convierte en Campo de Batalla

Y cuando creía que ya lo había visto todo, la trama da un giro de telenovela. Unos meses después, me enteré por los pasillos que cierta persona había ido a lloriquear al jefe. ¿El motivo? Al parecer, mi mera presencia le causaba ansiedad. Sí, amigos, mi existencia era un thriller psicológico para alguien 🤣. Pero eso no es todo, la cosa se pone aún más jugosa. Resulta que alguien había estado haciendo de las suyas, rebuscando entre mis cajones y sacando papeles donde tenía anotadas algunas ideas de negocios (este tema lo abordaremos algún día, da para muchos capítulos). Y yo, que suelo ir un paso por delante, pienso: ¿Intentaban hacer que echaran del trabajo? Claro, porque soy directo, porque no me doblo ante nadie, porque soy auténtico, y porque no me dejo manipular. Y sobre todo, porque sabía mucho y para algunos era mejor tenerme lejos. Recordad, tengo pruebas tangibles de todo lo que decían entre ellos, en sus intentos por acercarse. Pruebas que, si salieran a la luz, causarían estragos, daño del bueno ;)

Reflexiones de un Lobo Solitario

kami.png

Viviendo al Margen del Rebaño

Todo esto no ha hecho más que confirmarme lo que ya sabía: mejor solo que mal acompañado. Mientras el resto juega a ser populares en un mundo de fachadas, yo sigo a lo mío, disfrutando de las pocas pero verdaderas amistades, buscando dejar huella por lo que soy, no por lo que aparento.

Para Ir Cerrando

No os voy a aburrir más, que esto podría convertirse en una trilogía. Solo me queda dejaros una perla de sabiduría, esa frase que me guía día a día:

"No confiéis a ciegas, huid del circo social, sed auténticos, diferentes, y sobre todo, felices. Vivid cada día como si fuera el último, no por el drama, sino por la intensidad. Y cuando llegue vuestro momento, que sea con la cabeza bien alta, sabiendo que habéis dejado algo bueno en este mundo."

Disfrutad de la vida, ¡vuestra vida! 😉

Sort:  

very good posts i like it. :) and curious for the next chapter hahaha.
Well cool that you aso publish in spanish my amigo

AmiguE, in family we are inclusive 🤣😘

Hell(e) yes 😂😂😂