Beautiful Sunday: ordering omelette for a cat.

in GEMS2 years ago

Traveling on a train offered me some idle moment to start on writing a post on #beautifulsunday. The afternoon is bright and sunny with blue sky and occasional white clouds. Whenever I had free time, I would go for a walk around old Chinese community to see old houses and enjoy some local street food. These old houses always reminded me of my childhood and my Chinese grandmother’s house. This gave me a sense of security and warmth of my childhood. I would have street food cooked by elderly vendors as they tended to be very friendly and we could have a nice conversation. These elderly people made me recall memories of growing up among Chinese elders with all the noisy commotion in their kitchen. Those were precious memories which I always held on to dearly.

img_5320.jpg

img_5323.jpg

I went to visit the old lady whom I saw before the start of the plandemics about two years ago. I was very glad to see her still going strong selling PadThai at the narrow alley. I ordered my PadThai and watched her cooking merrily despite the problem with her neck. I did notice a beautiful stray cat sitting under her stall. She told me that the mother cat just had two kittens so she had to feed the cat.

img_5327.jpg

img_5325.jpg

The cat’s face was very nice; she appeared to be very timid and vary of strangers. She wouldn’t let me get close to her at all. The old lady told the cat that she had run out of mackerel and she couldn’t afford to buy mackerels everyday to feed the cat. One of my cats loved omelette so I suggested to her that omelette might work. She proceeded to cook an omelette for the cat. I told her I would pay for the omelette.

img_5329.jpg

img_5328.jpg

The old lady has not increased the price of PadThai for years while all the ingredients’ cost had gone up. So, I told her I wanted extra special PadThai so that she could feel less burdened by the low margin and I was happy to pay her the extra. The omelette was quite hot so I told her to wait till it had cooled down. I asked her to cut it into smaller pieces and gave the cat a few pieces to see if she would eat the omelette. It turned out that she ate some but she’d rather miss having the grilled mackerel. The lady gave me the rest of the omelette as the cat ate very little.

img_5322.jpg

img_5332.jpg

I tried very hard to befriend this lovely cat. But she just ran away each time and came back later to sit near the old lady. She’s very attached to this lady as she had been saved by her kindness. I finished my PadThai and paid for both my order and the omelette. The lady was quite glad that I kept my words even though she didn’t want to charge me the cost of this small omelette. It was so good to have a nice conversation with this lady who was also fond of stray cats. She was not making much money out of her food stall but she was kind and loving to all sentient beings.

img_5324.jpg

img_5326.jpg

I was glad I decided to take a trip there and to look up old places and people. I do wonder how long my world of the past could survive in this materialistic society and progress. Changes are coming and even more drastic changes in the near future. I just wish I had all the required time and resources for making preparations for what I could see coming in a few year’s time.

img_5331.jpg

img_5321.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

Sort:  

Interesting photos!
And the cat is beautiful, especially her eyes!

I wish I could have memories like that from childhood. What a wonderful women to keep going without raising prices. She has a right to raise them at this time. This is good business from someone with a good heart.

That cat has a sweet face. I love the nose.

The old lady sells her PadThai and fried rice to ordinary working people around the area so she’s afraid of losing her customers.

This cat is very gentle and timid! She forgot to wash her face in the morning!😂

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @kaminchan.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

What a beautiful cat! Her blue eyes are mesmerizing. What a kind soul you have <3 Your kindness and thoughtfulness will be returned to you in multiples!

I agree that tough times are coming and it is wise to be ready. Easier said than done with the cost of supplies but we must do the best we can.
I also wish you peace, good health and prosperity. Take care :)

The cat must be spoilt with being serve good mackerel. Even cats need time to get down to reality.

Nice visit to a healthy past. Cat is beautiful.