Late Caturday post: I think I found Goldie’s relative, เราเจอญาติของโกลดี้

in GEMS3 years ago

Life has been full of ups and downs these days, there have been weekly protest calling for the resignation of the Prime Minister. The government has started to take more aggressive measures in dispersing the protesters. So many puppets are dancing to the tunes of their masters, the sheeples are too fearful to think critically and question about what are really happening to our society. I have been trying to record places of my childhood as a way of saying goodbye to the good old days. During the last two months I have been feeding stray cats at an old temple by the river and stray cats in the car park of my favourite shopping mall.

img_1982.jpg

Last month I spotted a pale orange cat near the evening market by Robinson mall in Bangrak. He reminded me of the old Goldie who passed away almost two years ago, how time flies! This cat seemed quite old, he could be over ten years old judging by his look. But his face and expression were very funny so I called him, Bean! The first time I met him, he looked so dirty with black dust from sleeping on the footpath. He had no one to stroke his fur or clean off the dirt for him. He hissed at me a few times to frighten me away, but I told him I wanted to be his friends.

img_1984.jpg

I liked Bean’s face straightaway; he’s so transparent with his feelings. When I tried to approach him, he began to run away. So, I backed off and continued to talked to him. He hesitated and looked at me with suspicion and indecisiveness. His face and eyes were full of fear and uncertainty whether to trust me or not. So I told him to wait there while I went to buy some stick food for him.

img_1985.jpg

Most street food stalls had put spicy sauce on the grilled stick food. Luckily I found a small stall with hardly any customers, so I asked him to grill some plain stick food for giving to a stray cat. He looked at me in disbelief so I told him I was a vegetarian so the meat balls should be plain and cut into small pieces without any spicy sauce. I told him that cat looked very hungry and poorly. The vendor kindly went along with my instructions. I found Bean sitting on the footpath pondering on the impact of lockdown on most stray cats and animals in this area. He couldn’t understand why all the market and restaurants have been closed for weeks and weeks. All the stray cats couldn’t find any left-over food for their daily survival.

img_1986.jpg

img_1985.jpg

I showed him the bag of pieces of meat balls (mainly pork) and his eyes lit up. He wanted to come closer to me but his experiences taught him to be wary of humans. They often were so unkind and chased him away. So, I put these pieces of meat balls at a safe distance for Bean. He approached the meat balls and really enjoyed his dinner. I made a note in my mind to bring along my bag of cat food next time. At least he could sleep on a full stomach that night. Feeding stray cats has become me safety valve for staying sane and centered in this oppressive atmosphere of systematic planning to jab everyone including young children in the near future. Besides, we also expect fierce political conflict and sponsored protests to topple the government before the end of the year.

img_1989.jpg

In the car park of Robinson mall, I found the same stray cat I saw the previous week. To my surprise, this cat could remember my car as she chose to sit under my car though there were almost fifteen cars there. (I did park my car on the other side of the parking area the following two occasions; the cat still sat and waited for me to come back with my shopping bags). I was amazed by this cat’s memory of the shape, size and colour of my car.

img_1992.jpg

I felt very sorry for this old mother cat with some damage to her left eye. I did wonder whether I should try to catch her and release her outside the car park so she could roam around the market and live a more normal stray cat lifestyle. I called her Sandy; she might be safer in the car park but she would not find any food. At least she could hunt for mice or pigeons around the market.

img_1996.jpg

I decided to stock up some wet food for sandy as she couldn’t find fresh water in the car park. Sandy stopped running away when I tried to approach her. She seemed to expect cat food from me in the evening. But I couldn’t go shopping everyday; I had to tell her to eat up all the food as she won’t see me there often. Last time I went there rather late and o found someone put fried rice on a plastic bag for her. I was glad there’s someone else feeding Sandy and other two stray cats. I saw two more stray cats with Sandy that evening. But yesterday I saw only Sandy; I wondered whether they knew their ways around the car park.

img_1983.jpg

img_1988.jpg

ตอนนี้สภาพบ้านเมืองและเศรษฐกิจแย่ลงไปมาก คนต้องลำบากมาก เราเองก็โดนผลกระทบมากพอสมควร เพราะไม่ได้รับความช่วยเหลือจากมาตราการต่างๆของรัฐบาลเลย ปัญหาการเมืองก็เริ่มเข้มข้น และส่อเค้าว่าจะมีการปะทะอย่างวุ่นวายก่อนสิ่นปีนี้ เหมือนกับว่าฝีที่กำลังกลัดหนองหลายจุดกำลังจะระเบิดพร้อมกันในปลายปีนี้. การรวบอำนาจอต่ไร้ความสามารถในการแก้ไขปัญหา และความยากลำบากของประชาชน แถมยังกลายเป็นเผด็จการ ไม่ยอมฟังคนอื่นและแก้ไขในสิ่งที่ผิดพลาด ย่อมนำมาซึ่งความวุ่นวายและ ปัญหาที่หนักขึ้นในอนาคต เราจคงต้องหาทางพักสมองโดยการไปเลี้ยงแมวเร่ร่อนที่วัด และแถวๆบางรัก มันทำให้เรารู้สึกว่าตนเองได้ทำอะไรที่เป็นประโยชน์ แก่เพื่อนร่วมโลกบ้าง

img_1990.jpg

img_1991.jpg

เดือนก่อนเรไปเจอแมวที่ ทำให้เราคิดถึงเจ้าโกลดี้หรือเจ้าทองที่ตายไปแล้วเกือบสองปี. แถวนั้นแทบไม่มีแมวสีส้มเลย แมวตัวนี้สีส้มอ่อนมาก มีอายุมากแล้วด้วย เราดูแล้วมันคงอายุมากประมาณสิบปี ตัวมันมีแต่ฝุ่นจากถนน ดำเปื้อนเปรอะทั้งตัว มันน่าสงสารมาก เพราะคงไม่มีคนคอยลูบตัวและเช็ดคราบฝุ่นให้มัน เราพยายามเข้าใกล้มัน แต่โดนมันขู่อย่างแรงสองรอบ เราจึงบอกว่าเราจะไปหาซื้ออาหารมาให้ และบอกให้นั่งคอยเราที่นั่น เราก็เดินไปหาซื้อลูกชิ้นปิ้งแบบที่ไม่ได้ใส่น้ำจิ้ม. ร้านอื่นๆขายแบบย่างไปพร้อมน้ำจิ้ม เราดีใจมากที่ แมีนั่งคอยเราอยู่ที่เดิม เราก็ให้ลูกชิ้นปิ้งมัน แมวคงต้องหิวมาก มันกินจนเกลี้ยงเลย ต่อไปนี้แมวคงไม่กลัวเรามากเหมือนเดิมแล้ว มันคงรู้ว่าเราอยากเป็นเพื่อนกับมัน เราเรียกแมวตัวนี้ว่าเจ้าบีน เพราะหน้าตาท่าทางการแสดงออกของมัน ตลกมากๆ มันเป็นแมวใจดี แต่โดนคนในร้ายรังแกและทำร้ายมาก่อน เจ้าบีนจึงหวาดระแวงคนมาก

img_1997.jpg

เรากลับไปที่จอดรถ และเอาของใส่รถ ก็สังเกตเห็นแมวที่เราเคยเลี้ยงเมื่อสัปดาห์ก่อน นั่งอยู่ใต้รถ เราแปลกใจมากว่าแมวจำรถยนต์ของเราได้อย่างไร ต่อมาอีกสองครั้งเราแกล้งแมว โดยย้ายไปจอดรถที่อื่น แมวก็ยังหารถยนต์ของเราเจอ มันมานั่งคอยกินอาหารเย็นจากเรา ตอนนี้แมวเริ่มไม่กลัวเรามากแล้ว มันไม่รีบหนีไปเหมือนแต่ก่อน เราสามารถเข้าใกล้แมวได้มากขึ้น เราเรียกแมวว่าแซดนี้หรือเจ้าทราย มันน่าสงสารมาก เพราะมาติดอยู่บนที่จอดรถและหาทางออกไม่ได้ เราอยากจับมันลงไปปล่อยข้างล่าง เพื่อว่ามันจะได้หากินเองได้ อยู่บนที่จอดรถอย่างนี้ ไม่มีทางหาอาหารได้เลย เราก็ไม่รู้ว่าจะแก้ปัญหาอย่างไรดีสำหรับแมวตัวนี้

img_1993.jpg

I hope that one day these stray cats stuck in the car park would learn how to get down to the ground level so that they would be free to catch mice and pigeons for their survival.

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @kaminchan.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you very much for your generous support.

Bless your heart 💜😽

Thanks for your kind words!
Take care.

You are welcome 💜

I found your post so touching. Saying goodbyes to old childhood haunts and memories especially.
The cats are so grateful to you for feeding them and I am certain remember a soul so good as yours for ever. Keep up the good work.

Thank you so much for your kind words. I hope all the stray cats on this area are being looked after by some kind patrons!