Happy Saint Patrick's Day

in GEMSlast month

This week has been fairly hectic, but today should be a good chance to blow off some steam and have a bit of craic (A sociable activity; a good time - as defined in the dictionary) with friends and family.



Source


The Plan For The Day

I'll be heading back to my hometown at around 12 o'clock, and one of my mates is picking me up as we have a bit of a job to do before the drinking starts this afternoon.

Every year I help out by stewarding the parade in my town, and it's a fairly handy gig to be fair. We meet up in the afternoon, get assigned a position, and receive a hi-vis jacket with that we head to our designated spot to wait until we're told to block the roads leading to the main street.

There we stand until the parade passes by, and we wait for the coordinator to come along and tell us to remove the bollards when that happens we follow along with all of the other stewards to the end of the main street where the parade disbands, and we hand back the jackets.

With that done, we all head to the pub, and drinks tokens are dished out to everyone who helped out.

Usually, the pub is fairly packed, so it's a bit of an endurance contest. Most of the people who help out tend to leave after they have their one or two tokens, but if you don't mind crowds and stick around more and more tokens can get dished out.

The pub in particular would be my regular, so I don't mind hanging out there. For years now I've barely bought any drinks on Paddy's Day.


Today Will Be A Bit Different

There will be a slight deviation to the plan today, however, as I was asked to do a bit of filming before the parade and recruited a mate to help me out for it, as each of us will be blocking the road together anyway, so he may as well stick with me.

An RTE presenter of some kind will be down to do a bit of talking with the crowd beforehand, so essentially we'll film her talk, and interactions in the crowd, then once that's done we'll head to our location and prepare to block the road as usual.



Source


Kaleb's First Paddy's Day

My mum knitted him a tri-colour jumper and hat for the day, and he'll be proudly sporting them as he watches the parade for the first time. It'll be funny to see his reaction.

I'll be leaving early to get in and prepare some camera gear, and do the stuff beforehand, but my partner will be getting a lift into town with her mum and the baby, and they'll set up shop near my location so we can all watch the parade together.


Community Spirit

I love doing the stewarding each year, and I enjoy getting involved in days and occasions like this.

It's important to be involved in community activities, and on days like this when everyone is out, having fun, and celebrating their national heritage it's great to have a bit of build-up to the real celebrations by getting out and involved on a local level.

The day usually goes down well, thanks to all of the organisers, but everyone involved in these events has an important part to play, especially the spectators.

Sort:  

Happy St Patrick Day to you and the village.

May health, wealth and happiness be your companion till next!

@tipu curate

Thank you so much, I really appreciate that! Same to you, I hope you have a great day too.

Very special day to be out on the town, enjoy!

Wish you all happy saint patrick day!👍

Thank you so much, I appreciate that, it should be a great day.

Good luck holding back the marauding hordes. You'll need the few pints after that one;0

Hahaha tell me about it. It'll be good fun though, and the benefit of doing it is we're some or the first in the pub after so it's handy for getting a spot.

Happy St Paddy's! We don't make such a big deal of St George's. Hope you had a great day.

!BEER

It's cool to see the worldwide celebrations that go on for Paddy's Day, have to say though, while it was good fun, I was destroyed the next day, I'm only starting to feel right now haha

I've heard of St Georges's day, but I'm not sure what it is, is it similar to Paddy's day in the sense that it's a celebration of converting from paganism?

It's just a patron saint day. I don't think he ever came here and others have him as their saint too. We tend to have things like fêtes and parades rather than getting sloshed.

!BEER


Hey @killerwot, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @killerwot, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.

Congratulations @killerwot! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP