You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Cost Of Losing Hiveans; Our Adoption Plateau; Chinese Bamboo Tree Analogy; A Solution

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

YES! Finally someone said it for me cause my English is too bad to explain my thoughts.

Communities are the key on Hive\s success and community leaders who indeed care to grow their communities need the appropriate support.

As @skatehive skateboarding community organizer I can guarantee that this will work.
@liondani, a top 30 witness delegated 50k HP to our community and things have skyrocketed since then.
New people joined, older members of our community started posting more often and of course I have a lot more motivation to continue doing what I am doing cause I can finally reward our community members.

I don't even bother checking the trending page anymore. I've been seeing the same people there for over 2 years so no, thank you.

You are lucky you made it in trending 5 times. I do not know how that feels! Hehehe.

Resteemed and I'll be back for an upvote once my HP recovers.
Much love @steemmat

Sort:  

Thanks a lot. I've always wanted to skateboard but shied away from it because I didn't want to risk hurting myself to not be able to play baseball. I still play baseball, so no skateboarding yet. Maybe I'll be the old guy trying to learn eventually that people make fun of until I nail a nice slide along a rail. I just want to slide!

As for hitting trending, I may have really hit it 2-3 times. The other ~2 posts were very well rewarded, but not on the top of the list or anything.

Glad your community is growing. That must be a lot of fun.

It is never too late man! I do not know your age but @stickchumpion is 40+ and is still ripping! I say go for it. Even riding a skateboard will make you feel f*cking awesome.
I won't lie though, injuries are a really common thing in skating! Hehehe.

Yeah, the community is growing every day man. We have almost reached 90 followers and more than 20 active posters. Not bad for a niche community.

And yes, sliding a curb on a skateboard feel so f*cking good! Hehehe.

I've also debated a simple electric skateboard/longboard to get around my city. A bunch of people have them and they're so efficient. I would have to do a lot of basic training to get myself to a level of comfort before doing that, but it's an idea!

Go for it bro and you won't regret it! It is the most awesome way to move around the city! Eco-friendly, fast and of course you're gonna have so much fun!

I second this! There is something special in the rag tag, rejects of society, put togetherness of skateboard and longboard communities that make them so special. I have never felt as accepted as I did when I finally met all the skaters I was seeing online at my first big longboard event, and it made me a community builder as a result. Then I saw what SteemSkate was doing in 2017, and I knew I had to bring the longboarding community here.
That delegation from @LionDani, as well as votes from @curie and the witness Wolf, has been making my posts do pretty well, which in turn has just got a few new members to join. If it goes well for these new members, I honestly expect a flood of ppl. This is a group of people, wjo despite being all broke skaters, managed to raise over a million dollars for cancer research with their nonprofit they started called Push For The Cure. They've also organized an international race circuit, and formed their own governing body to regulate it themselves.
We need more people thinking like you @Steemmatt !
Actually, i think my next video will be about how awesome these guys are, and why the whales of Hive should support such a community joining.

Cool background. It's nice to get support from people who can help you make an impact. If I may ask, is that a certain percentage of snowboarding that translated to skateboarding? I'm a solid skier and snowboarded a few times to get the basics and feel down.

Absolutely. Main difference is you can turn with the slightest lean, because you don't need to dig in your edge to start turning. My roommate @aaronadventures is a snowboarder, and he just came along for his first ride. He took 2 slow runs, and then was so comfortable he started going full speed into the runs with me.