Broken Phone Saga!

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)

broken iphone.jpg

We’ve all been there (some like myself a few too many times) … your phone breaks! Disaster! We don’t realise how much we rely on them until we can longer use them. Is that a good or healthy thing, well I think that’s a topic for another day!

So, I had 2 incidents with my phone this last week, one lucky and one not so.

The first incident happened on Thursday night. I had my phone in my back pocket because my husband had to go back to work late as he had forgotten something. I was dealing with the baby so I wanted my phone close in case he called.

I was busy getting everyone ready for bed and I needed to go to the toilet. As I prepared to do my business, my phone fell straight out of my pocket and down the toilet. My first thought was I'm so glad there isn't any pee in the toilet! I’d like to tell you this is the first time is happened, but sadly not. When will I learn? I was the first time with this phone though.

So, after scooping my phone out of the toilet and giving it a clean and a dry I was delighted to see that it wasn’t damaged. Thank goodness! I could laugh about it and hopefully this time I’ve learnt my lesson…

My phone case didn’t survive though and I ended up throwing it out. I would buy a new one the next time I went out shopping.

A few days later, on the Sunday afternoon, I was sitting on my couch watching the formula one race. My phone was on the arm of the sofa. Then without being touched and without anyone even making a move my phone slipped of the arm and fell screen first on to a metal table foot which sits next to the couch.

At first, I noticed the screen protector had smashed. I took it off and was relieved to see that the screen was not damaged. Phew! I’d gotten away with another incident. Or so I thought. About 10 minutes later I picked up my phone to use it only to discover the display was completely black. The phone was working behind the screen just no display was showing!

Damn! It’s broken. I put it on charge just in case and I restarted it also just in case. Of course, neither worked. The phone display was not working. To make things worse my husband had told me to keep the case on until I bought a new one. If the case was on it wouldn't have slipped of the couch. Husband was right!

Fortunately, the phone is still under warranty, but would they fix it?

After taking it to the shop and explaining the problem they assessed my phone and confirmed I needed a new display. 2 days later I have my phone back!

This isn’t the first time I’ve broken my phone and so I have learnt to keep a spare. Whilst this was handy for people to still be able to contact me, it just isn’t the same as having your phone. I had no apps, my email etc wasn’t set up and there wasn’t much point in doing it either for such as short time. A small inconvenience.

I’m glad to have my phone back. I don’t know what I did before getting my phone. Clearly I was fine but I can’t remember what it’s like. They are used for everything!

Question for you all… am I the only serial phone killer??

IPhone.jpg

Signature .png

(Photos from unsplash and signature from canva)

Sort:  

Yay! Sorry about your phone though. Mine died last October and it took 2 weeks to get a new phone!!! The backup phone was so bad for those 2 weeks!!!

Congratulations @l0tti3! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!