You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MY JOURNEY TOWARDS LEARNING SPANISH #2

in GEMS4 years ago

Excellent, congrats for your Spanish lessons. Learning a new language is always good, at first it can be complicated but we should not be scared by that.

Let me make an observation about this phrase:

Hola! Buenos días, yo soy aquí / Hello, good morning, I am here

TO BE verb in Spanish is translated as "ser" or "estar". "Ser" for qualities (Soy bueno / I'm good, Soy mayor / I'm older, Soy mujer / I'm a woman) and "Estar" to refer to being in places or states of mind (Estoy en Argentina/ I'm in Argentina, Estoy enojado / I'm angry, Estoy feliz / I'm happy),

The correct translation would be "yo ESTOY aquí", since you mean that you are in a place (here).

I hope I don't confuse you with this 😅

Sort:  

Yeah I totally get. Example for use of estar is like estoy en el aeropuerto while ser is yo soy un hombre. I got it right?

Exactly ❤️