Saving the world and winners to my July PUD Guessing Contest

in GEMS4 years ago

This week, I've been a bit pre occupied with life off the chain on other social media sites. It all started after I wrote my last post on the latest situation in Hong Kong. Hong Kong may be far away from many people and you probably think what's going on there doesn't have anything to do with you. True, to a certain extent. But what you do in your country, wherever you have may be, might land you in trouble with the Chinese government. Better be safe than sorry.

Anyway, my pre occupation is about building my YouTube channel. I'm not looking to build it for monetisation purposes, it takes an awful lot of work to do that. What I've decided to do it so start a series of Integrate into UK society videos for the people in Hong Kong who are considering to come to live in UK. This is in response to the draconian National Security Law passed in Hong Kong recently, and the UK governmet's decision to allow some of the people from Hong Kong to settle here.

I have a vested interest in the Hong Kong situation as well as a potential influx of people coming to UK. Many have little understand of UK, but want to get away from the draconian state. They have a lot of questions, sometimes even unbelievable naive ones such as

Will I have to eat chips all the time?
Shall I start to train as an electrician/plumber now so I can get a job in UK?
How much stuff should I bring with me, the shipping costs are very expensive
I want to live in London because I'm worried I won't make any friends elsewhere
I want to live in a nice and quiet area, where's best?
Which area has less race discrimination in schools?

You get the idea.

That's why I've started to make bite-size videos to talk about life in general in UK and other bits and pieces so people can get an idea of whether UK is as bad or as good as people say. There's been lots of opinions offered by people on social media, including students who've spent three years in university here years ago, those who's been on working holiday in UK, and some who's been to UK for holiday and spent three days in Sunderland and says UK is very depressing.

I won't be posting my videos on Hive as they're all in Cantonese and 99.9% people won't understand what I'm saying. So in case I'm not around a lot, you'll know what I'm up to. Saving the world.

This also means I'm going to put a hold on another project I've been talking about.

livinguktaiwan divider.png

WINNERS OF MY PUD GUESSING CONTEST

And now to reveal the answers to my PUD Guessing Contest. I did two contests this month. The first is the Tomato Contest, and the challenge is to guess how many buds and flowers my plant has. I shared this image last week.

And this was taken yesterday. You can see the buds have flowered but there isn't any fruit yet. Anyway, the answer is 19 buds/flowers in total. We have one winner!!!!!
PSX_20200708_211823.jpg

The second is my Wallet Contest. The challenge is to guess which one I bought as I liked all of them.
image.png
These were the guesses made, and unfortunately, no one guessed the correct one!!!

Wallet 1 - 4 guesses
Wallet 2 - 1 guess
Wallet 3 - 1 guess
Wallet 4 - 0 guess
Wallet 5 - 4 guesses
Wallet 6 - 5 guesses
Wallet 7 - 0 guesses

because I bought wallet number 4

PSX_20200708_211719.jpg

Since no one guessed which wallet I bought, I did a lucky draw for everyone.

image.png

And the winner of the lucky draw is @beckie96830! The winner of the Tomato contest is @erikah. Congrats @erikah and @beckie96830, your prize is now in your wallet.
image.png

livinguktaiwan divider.png

Thank you to everyone for taking part in my PUD Guessing Contest this month. I hope you will join me again in my August one!!! Bye!!!!

Sort:  

IMG_0250.GIF @erikah and @beckie96830 !

@livinguktaiwan , I wonder if you would have made a different choice of wallet if you had been surrounded by all of us giving you advices on what we like most or what you should buy... 😁 ?

I might have ended buying all of them!!!! 🤣

!ENGAGE 30


Hey @livinguktaiwan, here is a little bit of BEER from @barbara-orenya for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you @barbara-orenya. I'm so lucky to have won.

❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky

Thank you very much dear Barbara 🤩

Wow🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳
Thank you so much @livinguktaiwan.

I'm so so grateful to have won 🥳🥳🥳
I'm so happy 😭😭😭😭

Congrats too @erikah
What a lucky guess
❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky

👏👏🥳... congrats @beckie96830

Thank you so much baby girl
❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky

Well done Beckie! Congrats

!ENGAGE 30

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks Becky and congratulations you too!

Now we have some money to spend on cocktails while staying on the beach 🏖️ under the umbrella.

It was you at galenkp's drawing contest, that I conversed with, right? 🤔😁

😂😂😂
Yeah it was me
We're going to stay in a better beach and have a beautiful view.

I'm open to suggestions cause I've never been to a beach before. I don't know if you have any one in mind.

❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulation to the winner

Thanks for taking part this month @jung21neneng. Better luck next time!

That is really helpful to those who want to live in UK but fear of the unknown.

!tip

I also think if I help even a few people, then I would have done some good. Just need to get some subscribers first

Thanks for your support as always!

First congratulations for your new YouTube series. It's really nice to want to help people and I'm pretty sure your videos will be helpful to many.

Second, thanks for the nice contest and for the prize ☺️ I wasn't expecting to win but I'm glad I did as that means I've learned something about gardening after all 😜

Congratulations to Becky as well 😉

You were spot on @erikah! Congrats. You are immensely knowledgable about gardening (which reminds me I did see your comment on my Weed Garden post which I forgot to respond) I didn't expect any less from your answer 😃

And I thought you're not considering comments after a few days 😜
I wouldn't call myself immensely knowledgeable, but I know a few things that came in handy this time 😁

Congratulations to the winners. Can't wait for the next one. Good luck to your new project.

Thanks for your support every month @gems.and.cookies

You are welcome. Anytime, I'm just a tag away.

Wow @livinguktaiwan, what do i have to say.
Looking forward to win next time.
Congrats to @beckie and co.

Hope you can join in next time.

Every country is different, what is a thing in one is not the thing in the other 😁 The question about plumber killed me 🤣 Maybe for once cowboy plumbers/electricians will be out of jobs!

I wonder how many will decide to move and how the UK is planning to cope with the housing situation and all the homeless at the moment 🤔

I don't think that many will come tbh unless they were seriously planning already. I reckon many are talking about it just because they suddenly got a lifeline, but even if they come, afaik they won't have access to public funds and benefit so if anything, it may push up the property market a little.

You got to be careful, we might end up with more cowboy plumbers!!! 😆

This question hahahahhahahahah

Will I have to eat chips all the time?