Hive Creative Contest - My Bucket List

in GEMS4 years ago

image.png

What would be the list of wishes you want to achieve before you die?

Well, this seems like a question easy to answer, but for me, the answer depends on the context or the moment in which you ask yourself this question. I can say that in my life I have made two bucket lists, one when I was a teenager and thought that life was eternal, and another when due to a serious illness I was close to death.

The first bucket list was made when I was 18 years old:

  • I wanted to graduate and have money to travel and visit the Pyramids of Egypt. I've always been fascinated by those structures that have aroused admiration over the years and were the funerary monuments of the pharaohs. Being able to see with my own eyes some of the treasures they housed was one of my dreams, I seriously thought that in other lives I could have been a queen, perhaps the beautiful Cleopatra. I wanted to walk through this enigmatic country and visit its landmarks, as well as to be able to discover its culture and gastronomy.

[Source of the Image]

  • Another country that I wanted to visit was Paris, the city of love. I've always liked fashion, to be able to buy beautiful clothes and accessories was one of my wishes, I wanted to be the best dressed among my friends and to be able to look like a movie artist.

image.png

[Source of the Image]

  • I also wanted to learn to fly planes and parachutes, to be able to feel the adrenaline when you fall into the void and the wind drags your body, the feeling of freedom must be incredible.

image.png

[Source of the Image]

I have not yet been able to fulfill any of those wishes, but they are still on my list and maybe I will achieve one of them one day, even if I am an old woman with gray hair.


The other wish list I wanted to fulfill was made when I was 34 years old and I was diagnosed with cancer.

In the movies, the protagonists when they know they are going to die do crazy things to fulfill their last wishes, but in my case, I wanted to see my daughter graduate and spend time with my family in my little home. All I wanted was time, not to parachute or travel, just to watch my little daughter grow up. Accompany her to buy her graduation gown and one day her wedding dress, see her walk towards the altar on her father's arm.

IMG_20180714_172803.jpg

With the experience I've gained over the years I have learned that our bucket list changes depending on the circumstances of the moment, also with age and maturity. When we are young we only think about traveling and enjoying life as if it would never end, but with age, we enjoy more of the little things, of the little details of life. Spending time with family and watching your children grow is the most important thing when we are parents.

Although in life it is always necessary to have goals that motivate us to achieve them, so every year it is important to review our wish list, check that we achieved, and make our list of pending dreams to be realized.

IMG-20171224-WA0032.jpg

Don't let your bucket list be only dreams, work to make them come true and enjoy life as much as you can!


yay.png

Sort:  

Que lindo post @maeugenia!!

Gracias, me alegra que te haya gustado.

What a beautiful story, thanks for sharing!