Unreasonable Downvotes

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Hi all,
I am new on Hive and I really enjoy the community. Although it was complicated at first, I try to have some nice posts and communicate with other users.
My posts are photos that I took myself (no plagiarism, no hate speech, nothing like this).
However, I have to face a really awkward situation as my last posts are downvoted by @themarkymark and some other accounts (@buildawhale, @netaterra, @ipromote, @engrave, @aceh.point, @acronyms ) without an obvious reason.
I have to say that I don't know themarkymark, so It can't be something personal.
When I post something these accounts downvote me, almost automatically.

How can Hive community protect me from WITHOUT REASON DOWNVOTES?
How can a new user like me, without power, face this unreasonable attack from a powerfull user?
Is Hive a community where law of the jungle prevails?
Have I to quit the community as all my posts automatically are distroyed?

I tried to solve the problem through discord, but nobody answered me.
I also wanted to invite some friends to the community as I really enjoyed it, but now I don't know if it's a good idea.

Τhis whole attack not only doesn't let me benefit financially from my posts, but also doesn't let me communicate with other users, as these downvotes make my account look like a fake account.
I hope the community will not ignore the problems of new members. I think that everybody here wants to make Hive a big community and not be a closed group.

Sort:  

hmmm this definitely doesn't look good. we should get this sorted....@themarkymark, why are you downvoting this user if they did nothing wrong?

@hivepeople that's too complicated for me, I just wanted to have fun and spend my time

leave the Hive and go to steem, that's only the solution for you as i see.

I have no idea but it seems to me that they're basically just downvoting the upvotes of liondani ... i don't think it has anything much to do with you... unless they think you are an alternate account of liondani.
But my assumption is that if liondani stops voting you they'll stop downvoting you. Which is hard because liondani is one of the only people that upvotes you to that probably isn't optimal

Thank you @jarvie ! It was really helful for me ! I couldn't imagine that in a community like Ηive a witness can downvote a new member, like me, just because an other witness supports me. For sure, all this can't be a good "promotion" for the community. Anyway, I hope it was an exception and not an ordinary behavior,because all this discouraged me a lot.

I'd say don't be shocked... Internet life has just as many feuds and problems as real life.

I got downvoted by the same stupid reasoning in the comment above. The solution is to make this place so incredibly large and full of people that the chances of bumping into these people slim to none. And good ridince right? Sure they have large votes but who needs the drama right?

If there are millions of people the likelihood of ever being on the radar of a @liondani or a @themarkymark will be almost 0 and that's probably the best thing to happen to this experience. Right now we're a small town with small town drama.

Even though i'm guessing you will still bump into liondani because chances are high you know him. haha

It's not very common for folks to jsut randomly target people with downvotes..

Very likely that you posted something that was taken from another site (plagiarism), were abusing hashtags or did something that isn't well regarded in the community to deserve said downvotes.

@themarkymark is a bit of a hard ass, but for the most part is a level headed and fair person. If you honestly believe you are being flagged by mistake perhaps make an appeal to him with proof that you created these photographs and this will likely all blow over.

It is hard for new users sometimes, however it's likely that @themarkymark is just doing his job of trying to protect against plagiarism.. My advice is reach out and talk to him about it, I'd like to see this get resolved and you flourish on HIVE.

I agree with this.

@themarkymark does throw his weight around, but he does not seem to be unreasonable and he seems to really care about this platform.

I try to stay out of drama So I don't know whose side to take here but if you are really being honest, please stay here and make your case. we will all grow because of it and you'll get the respect you deserve if you remain civil. The harder things are for you, the greater the rewards will be in the end, that's how this place seems to work.

Please get to know us and you'll see it's worth sticking around. Definitely better than Twitter. Good on you for promoting a post and raising awareness of your issue.

I find that just making an effort to stay on good terms with everyone without censoring myself is enough to avoid issues with anyone. The one time I did have an issue with someone it was @themarkymark who came to my rescue. Might be a misunderstanding!

Don't take it personally, it's just a disagreement on rewards.

Why would @liondani promote your post anyway. I bet my ass you are just faking a victim here.

maybe it's a misunderstanding, go out there and prove that you're not lying. Post with quality content or just a regular post that you want to do. They will know that you're not faking and will start to remove that downvotes.

@mrnightmare89 I 'm so tired of all this. I am so confused. Why I have to prove something in a community. My content is real and is mine. Maybe the best solution is to return to Instagram 😂

it's your choice but you know here is fun because you're sharing stories. Unlike Instagram, people will only focus in photography. Not too many people will react there. If they'll react they'll just say, "you're pretty, nice". lol

I really liked Hive, but all these downvotes are really boring. Something between witnesses should not effect others. My uncle, liondani just upvotes and supports me, so what? Anyway, thanks for your reply. @mrnightmare89

If you have to ask,
Yes, please leave the "community".

Heres a revolutionary idea... Go talk to him. DM him on discord and try and see what his problem is. Liondani should do the same.

Discuss it and come to an understanding. Its pretty simple.

Your photos are not worth $5.

I got blacklisted today for nothing what a joke

Not by me

I'm really happy to see you please help me if you can . Do you have a Instagram account ?

I see what you do and I do appreciate it I just don't like to get involved in all the drama I got two kids to deal with its hard work

You would need to reach out to HiveWatchers in their discord. I am not familiar with what is going on in your case.

I can tell you exactly what's going on I made a honest mistake with my other account @kggymlife on steemit it was ok to put > in front of text what was not yours I did this on here I got a warning and removed straight away I woke a few days later to find out that my other account had been blacklisted I tried to appeal in discord but got blocked and then just tried to reach out to them but no response I just wanted to get this fixed I really can't be asked with this I come on here to get away from the bs read some posts I always see all the drama going I just don't get involved if you could maybe reach out to them for me I would really appreciate that just tell them I will never do it again it was a honest mistake I'm not any good on discord they need to set up a Instagram and Twitter and a Facebook this would be a much easier way to contact them I've never really been interested in discord

I don’t know much that goes on in their discord as I am not part of HiveWatchers and am just a stake holder but I find it hard to believe they just banned you for only asking about it. But as I said, I don’t know what goes on there.

They did blacklist this account for nothing account for nothing one of the team has a problem with me that's the bigger picture

I did believe in all the blacklists but now this has really changed my mind it's very unfair to be treated like this I have a lot of people who look in to view my stuff on so to have that red mark is not a good look

And as you probably know I do post my own original content every day and have done for over two years now

So can you help me ? Also I just wanted to say that who ever is running the hivewatcher is not doing a good job another account of mine also got blacklisted for nothing I've not even used that account in a long while check it out for yourself @kgswallet

Hope you understand the situation here. You can't go opposite to @themarkymark. He is the ruler/king. He didn't here anyone voice. My suggestion that come at steem and leave Hive, it will be better for you. I also suffered many times with this fellow.

You can also join communities their and they will support you and all new comers. Join community https://steemit.com/trending/hive-159906 . We have policy for NO Downvoting. All upto you.

Then why are you still here?

I know how you might feel. This MarkyMark is a douchebag who likes to create bullying lists with the names of people whose content he dislikes and keeps the names there indefinitely.

He has me on his Buildawhale blacklist because back in 2018 I shared about a dozen memes in a DApp called DMania and still despises me as well as all those people he keeps on the list beyond an expiration date.


I am a witness, BTW and if you vote for me I'll give you automatic upvotes(subject to manual evaluation in a couple days).

That is terrible to know about

After I promoted your post on peakd he downvoted everything to zero (as you can see) and started threatening me on slack also!

Screenshot from 20200501 011138.png

It's not a threat, you refuse to stop abusing.

https://peakd.com/abuse/@themarkymark/farmer-spotlight-liondani

yeah but why drag this new user into it?

When you talk about the Devil...

image.png

I really laughted with this comment. Thanks for the support!! @fernandosoder

Just removing Liondani's votes.

Hey @joe.public, you can write your post, no problem, I understood that there are a lot that are facing the same situation.