My Encounter With Anti-Crypto Men Of The Nigeria Police Force.

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)

I'm sharing this experience due to the recent encounter of fellow Hivers and brothers (@belemo and @josediccus) with men of the Nigeria Police Force. My experience may help others in the future know what and what not to say / act when stopped or interrogated by the police.

img_0.38538176269593544.jpg

img_0.8103995236322159.jpg

"THE BEGINNING"

I've always heard about young men being harassed and unlawfully held by the police because they're young and look "okay". With okay, I mean not looking like they're suffering or poverty stricken. I've had a police stop my any taxi I board for quick interrogations and sometimes extort the taxi drivers once in a while but I've personally never been stopped until two weeks ago.

img_0.8103995236322159.jpg

"The Encounter."

I had just finished my night shift in the lab at the University. It was a long night and I was exhausted from extracting essential oils from a medicinal plant. I grabbed some food and was on my way home with hopes of just eat and getting some good sleep. I need that. I was almost at my house when I saw some men of the police force in front but remained calm since I had done nothing wrong and wasnt dressing flashy ( they mostly stopped young people with cars, fancy clothes, earrings, tattooes).

img_0.8103995236322159.jpg

"The Stop And Search"

An officer stopped my taxi driver ordered him to park the vehicle. The officer then saw me and asked a younger officer to search me. First they asked me who I was and I politely declared I was a post graduate student of the Capital's University and had just finished working in the lab. I guess that didn't make any sense to them and they asked my to open my bags, they saw my lab coat and books belonging to some undergraduates. That still wasn't enough and so they asked for my ID. I wasn't with it but showed them the photo on my phone. The young officer asked for the phone to see the ID clearly but immediately after confirming I was who I said I was, I saw him scrolling through other things.

img_0.8103995236322159.jpg

"ANTI-CRYPTO"

I politely asked what he was still doing with the phone and he said I should stay calm and he wasn't done yet. Then he started making statements like " You said you're a UI student but I'm seeing Binance and Crypto on your phone" I replied politely, First Sir, my phone contains very sensitive materials belonging to me and my department so I'd like to get my phone back. But he refused and said I was a criminal. I smiled Abit because I couldnt imagine what I just heard. The officer continued by saying Crypto is illegal in the country and I was having crypto related apps on my phone, hence I'm a criminal and will have to follow them to the station.

img_0.8103995236322159.jpg

"WAYS OF THE POLICE"

This young officer would be in his late 20s and I understood he was intentionally sent by the older officer to go through phones of young people because he was a lil bit more educated. Well I knew my rights and I knew Abit about the law to not to get in trouble or arrested for no just cause. The officer conclude this statements by saying Crypto was used by scammers and so since I was a user of crypto, I'm also a scammer. Another officer joined him and they asked me to enter their vehicle to told my taxi to go away. Luckily, I had turned off my data and switched the Sim cards so they found it difficult to access my wallets and crypto apps. I was calm and for a bit to process all they just said and what a mess this could be if wrongly handled because these are men with guns who would shoot anyone for no just reason. And then I made these comments and asked the officer these questions.

img_0.8103995236322159.jpg

"MY COMMENTS AND QUESTIONS"

First Sir, Crypto isn't illegal in Nigeria. Same as the apps you saw on my phone. If they're were illegal, pretty sure the government would ban them the same way they banned Twitter.
Secondly, I'll be glad if you could show me where it's written in the Constitution that crypto is illegal.
Thirdly, You said crypto is used by scammers and thats why its illegal??!! Sir!!, Naira, Dollars, Euros etc are also used by scammers , kidnappers , terrorists and for criminals, does that make those currencies illegal?

img_0.8103995236322159.jpg

"DEFEAT A POLICE??....NO!!!"

Both officers became quiet and got furious that I could question their authority. It was typical of the police and so I asked them to please let me go that I'm not a criminal and the University would come seriously searching for me if anything goes wrong because I hold some important documents on my phone. The officers were kind enough to understand after so much explanation but they still wanted "something for the boys". I gave the little I had and went home feeling frustrated and angry at how the force that's supposed to protect other citizens are actually the ones trying to extort from citizens.

img_0.8103995236322159.jpg

They stopped a couple other young people and I saw how they extorted them mercilessly. It was a sad experience but I understood this from my encounter and after.

  1. Stay calm and collected whenerver you have an encounter with the police.

  2. Do not give any officer your mobile phone to search without a search warrant (sensitive information is a good excuse).

  3. Always have an ID with you.

  4. Try as much as possible to belong to a renowned organization (school/ work/ NGO). It scares them.

  5. Know your rights, read the news and stay informed.

  6. Hide all crypto and trading related apps on your phone just incase they get hold of your phone. They know them and are always searching for them.

img_0.8103995236322159.jpg

While we hope and wait for the restructuring of the police force, it would be great however to stay away from anything that would bring about our harassment and an unjust arrest. There are good men in the force, but most are bad eggs.
Stay safe my friends and thank you for reading.

Sort:  

untitled.gif

Man I really wish lol.

please what's the username of the person that did your logo and stuff?

The best GIF to police brutality. It's becoming a thing we cannot ignore anymore

Wish this could happen tho😄.

Wow, that sounds terrifying! That could have gone so much worse...

Yea, could've gone worse. I've seen how they treat people who don't know their rights.

Congratulations @merrypanda! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day

Why do they keep doing these? All coz you have a crypto app your are a criminal? These people just keep inventing ways to extort.

This is one of the biggest ways to extort young people right now. They know most young folks earn online via cryptos and trading apps. They really just hate to see growth in where they expected to suffering.

It is really getting out of hand