[Blog #80] What is your Hive story?

in GEMS2 years ago

Heeeyho Readers! What is your Hive story? Share your post in the comments!


Stop hammering for f#@&%$ sake!

It's quiet now. I'd planned one of those long-ass travel stories, but the bricklayers showed up to work on our roof, unleashing the mighty hammers over our heads; dog and cat have just recently understood that the house is not falling upon us. I feel them. My head is pulsating in pain. Thank God it's almost Friday when I hop on the bicycle and run away to the quietness of the ranch. Woohoo!

I've been dedicating more time lately to scan the feed for posts to comment on. Who on earth doesn't pour positiveness when a nice comment pops on the notifications icon? It shows that someone pays attention to what is written. Reading, internalizing, and commenting, is sure becoming rarer in times of endless distractions and quick one-minute videos. I'm not exempted {Youtube is killing me, please help}.

In one of these feed trips, I stumbled on @Snook's post entitled My Hive Story ~ Where it came from and the questions, where she answers 10 questions about her on-chain journey. Since my account is turning 4 on December, 22, I've decided to take part in this cool initiative. I hope you enjoy.

1.jpg

Introduction photo, December 2017


Questions:

  • How long have you been on the Blockchain?
  • What was your background in Cryptocurrency when you first came to the blockchain?
  • What was your background in writing when you first came to the blockchain?
  • How many people did you know when you first came to the Blockchain?
  • How did you meet people when you first came to the Blockchain?
  • Who did you look up to when you first came to the blockchain?
  • How would you describe your first three months on the blockchain?
  • Has being a part of the blockchain changed you in any way for the good?
  • What is your favorite memory from your time on the blockchain?
  • If you could give advice to a new person signing up to Hive what would it be?

How long have you been on the Blockchain?

It's completing four years on December 22nd. Like most of us, I created this account when we were still called Steemians, during 2017's crypto boom. Thus, as a Hivean, I'm here since day one; I still count as 4 since Steem was hijacked.

What was your background in Cryptocurrency when you first came to the blockchain?

None, to say the least. I first heard of Bitcoin in 2013 and thought people were nuts. Who buys magic numbers to exchange for whatever crap on the internet? Friends of mine seemed more interested in the Silkroad products than hodling Bitcoin at all. If I remember correctly, the price ranged around 200 USD; buying Bitcoin in Brazil was a nightmare. Soon Mt.Gox crash came and I lost interest completely. It wasn't until the take-off in 2017 that I remembered Bitcoin existed. That matches the time my interest in finances and libertarianism grew. When I discovered Steem (now Hive) I had already bought a few sats for 8k (lost them all in alts during the bear market).

What was your background in writing when you first came to the blockchain?

I was able to write my name. Poorly.

English is not my installed by default language. Even in Portuguese, I've never been a writer of any sort. Some say that a good writer is the product of an avid reader. Well, I've never been an avid reader either \o. However, I'd traveled all across Patagonia that same year I discovered the blockchain and wanted to share the experience in a book — I didn't know about the blockchain yet. I was also teaching English at a private school, so I used the opportunity to expand my vocabulary and develop a more in-depth comprehension of English grammar. That's how I became a writer (if I can call myself so).

By the way, have you checked Tales of a Patagonian Journey?

How many people did you know when you first came to the Blockchain?

Personally? None. I discovered the blockchain on Youtube through a person who posted cryptocurrency analysis. Other than that, I didn't have any reference/friends in here.

How did you meet people when you first came to the Blockchain?

We didn't have the communities back then, so we used the hashtag system. I met people scanning the hashtags that interested me (e.g. travel, life, cycling). The best way to meet people was, and still is, to follow and leave meaningful comments in people's posts. I didn't know about Discord. It wasn't until @for91days discovered me that I began to join communities on Discord — that's when I truly created long-lasting connections.

Who did you look up to when you first came to the blockchain?

Geeez, it's hard to remember. I guess most of the people I followed back in 2017 are no longer here. From the ones who are still here we can include most of the top names in the Travel niche.

How would you describe your first three months on the blockchain?

Dazed and confused. I was excited every time someone voted on a post of mine, leaving me 0.01 cents. I didn't know what to expect but knew I wanted to share my stories no matter what. So I kept on posting and interacting until one day, I woke up to a massive upvote from @curie on one of my texts. Then I met the guys at @travelfeed and joined their Discord channel. I'd described the first three months as a steep, caffeine-driven, endless, exciting, energetic learning curve. If you are past this phase, everything is possible.

Has being a part of the blockchain changed you in any way for the good?

It has shifted my life upside down and around like in a washing machine. I could devote a whole post to that topic, so let's summarize.

  • the blockchain inspired a trip to Europe in 2018
  • my interest in finances and libertarianism increased
  • I met a bunch of incredible people, both online and in real life
  • Developed new skills

The list goes on...

What is your favorite memory from your time on the blockchain?

Going to Europe for the Steem Hive Fest 3. That trip by far surpasses the memories of when curators recognized my work — not that recognition doesn't matter. Meeting the folks in real life, hanging around, and being helped when I could barely cover the costs of such a monumental trip marked my memory forever. Then, being saved by a dear blockchain friend when some bastards robbed me in London. At that point I discovered blockchain fellas aren't just normal people but a group that cares for each other.

For those who participated in that mad trip, my uttermost gratitude.

If you could give advice to a new person signing up to Hive what would it be?

Be yourself. Don't overthink or try to rush the learning curve. And the obvious: don't plagiarize, try to scam, or beg. Find a niche you are really into and see who's interacting there. Follow these people, read their content, leave meaningful comments. Go to the community's page and find if they have a Discord channel.

Do not worry about the payout. Votes are resultant of the confidence you portray. Curators will value your effort sooner or later if you are engaging and posting quality content — it takes time.

I've seen many quality writers come and go during my four years as a full-time travel writer. Some people are impatient. Consistency is key on the blockchain. If you are interested in the people rather than the payout, I guarantee you'll have a blast and will stay, even if you are not inspired to post anything.

I know we go through life struggles sometimes, but do your best to power-up 100% of your rewards. This shows you are committed and won't disappear the moment we see a bear market.


Well, my fella Hiveans. These were the 10 questions about my hive story. Some of them deserve more thought; others brought back dear memories and slapped me in the face for not calling my Hive friends more often. If I could leave one last message for beginners: it's not easy, but it's fun.

I hope you have enjoyed it. If you decide to partake in the challenge, drop your post down in the comments.

Peace.


Did you know that I have a book out? Check this!

Access Link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/6500272773?

Sem Título-2.jpg


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

Find me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrprofessor_

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping, & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Love it!
I remember hearing about the bitcoin when it was going for £1. I thought to myself, what kind of nonsense is it? Paid no interest. Now I wish I would have bought at least 100 of them 😂

The next big thing, I am investing no matter what 😛

Aiaiaiai sorry for taking so long to get to you here. My pc kinda blew up and I did not know how to fix so I left it alone for a couple of days to see if it healed itself (didn't happen).

Are you into this NFT craze?

Congratulations @mrprofessor! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!