Stir-fried Bitter Gourd With Eggs

in GEMS3 years ago

0.jpg

Bitter gourd, also known as bitter melon is said to have many health benefits. They are said to be nutritious, have cancer fighting properties, helps to decrease cholesterol levels, reduce blood sugar and according to traditional medicine are ‘cooling’. How much of that are folklore, and how much were scientifically proven, I do not know. I only know that there is no harm in eating them moderately, like I do with all food.

I didn’t know how to appreciate bitter gourd until a few years ago. I have heard people said, ‘It’s very nice’, ‘It’s good for your health’. But I didn’t like it because of its bitterness. Perhaps as we grow older, our taste buds change. All of a sudden, I didn’t find them all that bitter after all. Just a little bit which does not bother me anymore.

There are many varieties of bitter gourd and just as many ways to cook them. A simple way of cooking them is to stir fry them with egg. It is simple to prepare, easy to cook, nice to eat and you can’t go wrong with it.

This is how I cook bitter gourd. This bitter gourd is said to be the Chinese variety. They are bigger and smoother. Some varieties are smaller and the skin are rougher. It is purported that those are even better – more bitter and nutritious. Anyway ...

This is half of a bitter gourd. My sister used the other half to cook bitter gourd, salted vegetable and pork rib soup the day before. That was also very nice. So, I thought I would finish off this other half.

1.jpg

Right, let’s get on with the preparation. Cut the bitter gourd into half and remove the insides. Scrape it clean.

2.jpg

3.jpg

Cut them into slices. I prefer very thin slices. This is because they look more presentable, and it is easier to cook.
4.jpg

Sprinkle some salt into a basin of water and wash the cut bitter gourd. I used hot water. This is to help soften the bitter gourd and take away some of the bitterness. This is useful for those who are still a bit wary of the bitterness. Leave them in the water for half a minute or so. But don’t leave it in the water for too long or you will lose all the nutrients.
5.jpg

Strained the bitter gourd.
6.jpg

Heat up the wok. Add some oil into it. Wait for the oil to heat.
7.jpg

Pour in the bitter gourd. Add salt, and fry them for a couple of minutes. If you prefer the bitter gourd to be softer, then fry it for a bit longer. I prefer mine to have a little crunch.
8.jpg

Break the eggs and beat them. I used two. Add a bit of soya sauce or salt to the eggs. Pour them into the wok. Give it a quick stir and fry, and the dish – stir fry bitter gourd is done.
9.jpg

10.jpg

This dish use a fair bit of oil because the eggs absorb quite a bit of oil. As for salt, add according to taste. I prefer my eggs to be a bit on the well done side. You can decide how well done you want your eggs to be. You can add another egg if you like eggs.
11.jpg

0.jpg

A simple, healthy, and easy to prepare dish. I eat to live, with an emphasis of healthy food. So, the dishes I do are simple. And most of the time, it is all a matter of individual tastes – how much salt, oil, or the degree it is cooked.

Sort:  

Aha! One for me!! 🙀😂😂

👍 Simple dish. 😊

Looks really good, and looks easy to make!

It is a simple, but very healthy dish. If I can do it you can do it. 😀