Tulipmania At The Flower Dome

in GEMS2 years ago

1The kuekenhof 3.jpg

Tulipmania at the Flower Dome, in the Gardens by the Bay is a display of Tulips with a Turkish theme. I have long thought that Tulips originated from the Netherlands. It looks like I was very much mistaken.

According to a sign at the exhibition, the origin of the tulips “… goes back and into Kazakhstan, following in the footsteps of nomadic tribes that trekked trough mountains of Central Asia. It is believed that tulips have first appeared in the wild at these mountains, and were then introduced to Turkey.”

Apparently there are 3,000 registered tulip varieties. And in Kazakhstan, there are more than 35 species of wild tulips, 18 of which are protected by the state.

I managed to catch the display towards of the end of the display date. I am glad I did. It was awesome to see all the lovely tulips on display, and to learn about their origins, and also a bit of Kazakhstan culture.

Enjoy the pictures of the beautiful Tulips. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to learn the names of the different varieties of tulips, so I am not able to tell you what they are.

2The kuekenhof 4.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

This is a Yurt – a form of dwelling used by nomadic Kazakhs. “The Yurt is furnished with traditional textiles and other inter décor items from Kazakhstan.”
13.jpg

13a.jpg

13b.jpg

13c.jpg

13d.jpg

14.jpg

Photo enthusiasts, so keen and focus on their interest.
19.jpg

20.jpg

ecency.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Follow me if you find my posts interesting. Cheers!

Sort:  

Tulips are always lovely especially with many of them together.
It always remember of stock market bubble as I think of the Dutch Tulip mania.

Ya, they are so lovely to look at, at the flower dome.
I would not think of associating the tulip with stock market bubble. Must be some personal experiences that happened to you.