Unknown Fruit

in GEMS3 years ago

0.jpg

I was walking past this stretch of nature when something caught my eye. Ever so curious, I decided to take a closer look.
1.jpg

I was baffled. What are these? I have never seen this fruit before. They look like grapes and are from a vine plant.
2.jpg

3.jpg

I was quite tempted to take a bite to see what it tastes like. But common sense tells me that if the birds leave them alone, then it is better that I leave them alone too.
4.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

Anyone know what this is?

ecency.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Follow me if you find my posts interesting. Cheers!

Sort:  

Those are so beautiful! I found this...

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/askst-what-is-this-fruit-which-looks-like-a-cherry

The exact species could either be the Cayratia japonica, Cayratia mollissima or Cayratia trifolia, said Associate Professor Yong, who is from the biology faculty at the Singapore University of Technology and Design.

"As a general safety guide, fruits are deemed edible (to humans) if birds have been seen eating them.Cayratia trifolia has edible purple fruits.The leaves, according to literature, are edible especially the young leaves.

"The other species, Cayratia mollissima; the leaves can be added to make tea, in addition to the regular tea."

He added that these are climbing plants, which means they use other plants, rocks or man-made structures for support. None of them are endangered in Singapore.

Thank you Melinda. That does look like what it is - something from the Cayratia genus anyway.

Ironic that I need someone from America to tell me what a fruit in Singapore is. 😊

I thought they were such beautiful berries that I had to do the research! The internet makes the world a smaller place!

True. 😊

WoW, they look amazing I would not resisted to take a bit...lol...just love fruit berries 🤣

I wanted to take a bite too. But I thought if the birds leave them alone, I better leave them alone too. 😊

Yep better to be safe then sorry 👍

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @quotes-haven.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

For more details see :
https://www.nparks.gov.sg/florafaunaweb/flora/1/3/1364

It is toxic when ingested. Jean Yong was my classmate so many years ago when we were 15 or 16

Thanks for the link. Much appreciated.

Prof Yong also said that they can be eaten if process correctly. Much like Gingko Nuts

Okay - Thanks!