CHASING THE MONEY

in GEMS4 years ago


I used to wonder why billlionairas never stop work. They could have literally anything their soul desires as long as there is a price tag attach to the said thing. So why the push? What's the goal? I used to think that if I ever made a lot of money I would retire and probably travel the world. Having enough money isn't definite anymore and probably a lie I told myself. I have had more than I had prayed or hoped for a couple these passed view years but it is still not enough to stop me from wanting more. I have crossed everything on my bucket list but it still wasn't enough.Most of my worries for the past 3-4months are solved thanks to some mircalous happening. However, I have been mor restless than I ever been. This reminds me of Thomas Shelby in the peaky blinder series. One of the biggest lies Thomas had told himself was that he did all he did both good or bad for his family. There is no doubt he loved his family and was willing to make sacrifices but they were mainly to satisfy his inner demons and his insatiabke desire for power.

I AM CHASING MONEY

I want more of it. I think about it every night and day. It has become my new obbession. I want more than I have mainly because I fear of losing it all of it. In retrospect, maybe it's the fear that keeps us going (or the greed). The fear of not having is quite traumatising. I know how scared I get when my earnings start dropping and it feels like I am spending more than I am making.

I really don't see myself to be greedy person. I am more fascinated by the simplier things in life. I want more but maybe not too much--too much to corrupt myself because I have seen what wealth, fame and power does to people. I am fine with the basic things in life--food, shelter,job security and good friends and family. I don't think anyone should ask for anything more than that but at some point within your comfort zone you being to entertain cursoity about the unknown and this is where I stand.

I WANT MORE

I am willing to work for it. Although sometimes I don't have much faith in effort. One's effort is as good as the surrounding forces within his/her sphere but at the same time one cannot life by chance. I do not imagine to be rich by chance although there is a likelihood I might just meet some good fortunes in the future. Things happen every now and then. People meet good and bad fortune. It's all part of life's game.

I DON'T WANT MONEY I WANT PEACE

It seems like a luxury these days but I do want to wake up one of these days, without a care in the world. A day where all the noises and distractions in my head are muted. The noise! It gets to me. It is in fact the problems. The whispers of tasks yet unattended to; the worries of the future; the guilty of the past; the feeling of being lost in my mind. The noise.

Peace of mind

Most times we opt for distactions.

Drowning in our work

Getting fixated on eternal things

_But the battle is internal._We are all fighting for our sanity and it takes a lot of effort to be sane in this world.

CHOOSE YOUR VANITY

I choose the labourous work or being in servitude to the people I love and the unending fight with my demons to win the fight over my conscience. I probably would get all I want if I trade my conscience and humanity

Gain the world lose your soul

That's the game we all play.


Image Source: https://pixabay.com/images/id-4051269/

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

Most honest lines i have read in a long time:

"I AM CHASING MONEY

I want more of it. I think about it every night and day. "

this is a genius article. absolutely.