RANDOM RAMBLE: IF I HAD A LOT OF MONEY

in GEMS4 years ago

InShot_20200408_075636201.jpg

How you ever wondered what your life would be if you had a lot of money? Enough to never have to worry about not having enough.

Financial freedom. Many people talk about or dream about it but never really achieve a lifestyle. Most people chase this money to their grave. It's never enough, even at the point where they've reached their supposed financial goal they still pushing for more. The madness.

I have a friend who is quite rich--very rich. To us his peers, he is living the ideal life. We can't vouch for how he makes his money, but he is making a lot of it enough not to need a job. He could probably spend in a day all I labour for here for a month. Yes, he has that much.

I do remember when we were a bit rich. A time in my life where I didn't have hustle. I had a dad who took care of me. All I did was spend his money. Cool times. I know people like to talk about labouring for wage but men! There are people in this world who do not even put half of the time the average person commits to a job and they are smiling to the bank--every day. In fact, I will say the more work you have to do the lesser your wage (to put things into perspective: even the most consistent content creator on hive isn't a whale yet). My girlfriend works in an insurance firm and has to do the work of her bosses. She earns 10% of their income. Well, you might argue that her bosses have done the work but is that always the chance?--it never really is. Certain people enjoy certain privileges based on so many factors.

I came across a story yesterday about the argan oil which happens to be one of the most expensive edible oil in the world, produced in Morroco. It is said to cost over $300 for a litre of given the tedious process of extracting the oil. Unfortunately, those who work to produce this said oil make less than $300 a month. This brings into question the exploitive nature of capitalism. Hunger and poverty is still a thing in 2020 because many profits from it. But this isn't a post about solving world hunger.

If I was rich enough to never have to work again(a million dollars will guarantee that) what would I do with my life? That's a huge question because we are all conditioned to believe that the quality or essence of our lives is based on our productivity. You don't deserve to eat today because you did not work. However, there are people who want to work but can't work and people who have work but can't earn enough to get a decent meal.

Personally, I think you know little about passion until your financially free. I am depriving my self of decent sleep to write this post. If I had enough sitting in the bank I probably won't. Do you see top stakeholders writing every day? Most of them do this for money and fun. That's something the average hivian cannot relate with. They have to play the game of engagement, constantly put out content, shill, etc and they should because who else is going to do it? I'm sure you're expecting blocktrades or theycallmedan to shill your coin for you every day. Nathan does and it's crazy because he doesn't really. This, I feel, is more about drive him than money to him and many of us cannot operate on that level because we aren't free--financially or mentally.

It's a luxury to be passionate.

I met a Chinese guy on my birthday last year who quitted his job to travel around Africa. It seemed like an absurd thing to do but I really envied him.. Image having to quit writing for a year and still be fine. Won't that be cool?

I like to believe that I am living the ideal life but on a low income. I have been living off my earning a content creator for two years. It might seen like a lot of work but when I compare it with what some of my peers are doing for less, I consider myself lucky. Even if I get a job that offers twice what I earn here I might decline because it might not afford me the flexibility I need to grow and learn new skills. I am an aspiring frontend development. That would never be the case if I was stuck in a job I hated that took all my time.

These are just my random thoughts this evening.