In a Global lockdown: Stabilizing my Mental health during Quarantine

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmkDPmxAACYK5A9W2kLe5vjVxuTMtn8MyBHvguTkf2dHMLk1o2wazBNoGSqigo.jpeg


The worse days of our lives is far from being over, you could argue this out, but ask deep down within yourself, is this the worst that could happen? Locked up for days, weeks and maybe even months, becoming prisoners in our own homes not been able to go see our dying or surviving families and friends.

Our future worries are huge, a dire global recession is still looming and considering people losing their jobs and businesses going into extinctions, you and I are still in for a longer haul. Think about currency being devalued, your millions could fall into just some hundreds of thousands while assets are falling in price. The Stock market crash is a big scare, alongside petroleum products price plunge as well as cryptocurrency price epic rise and fall movement. All these are far worrisome and the fears are kicking in amidst our being confined to our shelters.

With thoughts like this going on the in minds of Millions if not Billions like me still very much healthy amidst a global threat, one way or the other, our mental state has been tampered with, life long traumatic experience for most people who never thought of moments like these in our present technological advancement and civilization. Still a mystery how a virus not as deadly as the preceding ones(SARS Ebola...) could cause so much havoc to our lives, by that, those who had lost their loved ones, and those who had lost their jobs and means of livelihood and to some of us who do not know if we would have businesses running afterwards could only know how this has affected us much.

But then, we all must survive one day at a time. Fear of the unknown is a greater killer over anything else, hence my surviving routine ain't much, I blended it with a far greater positive outlook and that seems to take me yet to another light of the day.

My first routine is staying far away from mainstream news/media, that's a killer joy for me and I'm sure many. As odd as this sound, I prefer watching local news at the moment because they seldom broadcast nerve and hope wrecking headlines, in short I limited my time from live telecast. I watch a lot of movies, animations in greater proportion to absorb all the humour which is greatly needed in moment like this. Also, constantly reaching out to my family far away and close by is another thing that gives me momentum, knowing they are all well and healthy each day as I hear their voices over the phone or video calls is another dimension of hope in its own form.

Since movement is restricted as it is in your current location, going out is not an option. Though I take strolls in the evening about few yards away from where I stay just to take in some fresh air. Seeing few people walking around is another joy on its own, it sucks to keep thinking about an Apocalypse!

I know its is more daunting for people with underlying health issues, especially if you find yourself in places around the globe with shabby health infrastructure and a closer to nothing ruling government, it could be much harder for people in this category. Although it's been a little rough, feeding is one and getting immediate groceries is another as all outlets and mini-mart are on total lockdown. This is when looking into keeping stash of food and toiletries is a mandatory effort after getting out of this mess, I mean when we finally overcome.

Using social media is minimal for me at the moment, and when in use, I limit my surfing because the internet is another scare tactics, but that is a topic for another day. This might help anyone reading too but my search and internet usage is basically to look for funny videos, dorky internet challenges and pets photos and videos. Its not advisable to go snooping around some X-files or conspiracies that could had more injuries to our already bruised mental health. Mobile games are another getaway for me, unfortunately I do not have any video games to immerse myself in, another world of it's own. But a few games on my mobile device is helping out.

Fact is, we have different ways to ease stress and get out of hard moments, but I strongly believe most of the things I have been doing behind lock doors also help for others and its not limited. There are books to read, indoor physical games to play, board games and card games. Online quizzes and questionnaires, some of these things might be suitable to your own need and its in your best interest to not think much about the present state of the world in other for it not to get to you. It is hard to not remember our most of the plans we made have been ruined or the targets we have set in business or other things have been jeopardized. This are the parts of uncertainties about life, covid-19 is one of them, nobody would ever imagined 2020 could really go down south like this when we began!