Hi Everybody

in GEMS4 years ago

DSC05363.JPG
Yes that is me; sketching somewhere in a remote village

Oops looks like I was caught napping. I was earlier blogging at Steemit and then took a break and when I came back I realized things have moved and moved on; and how!

Though there are some carryover posts from Steemit in my profile, this is going to be my first official post here. So at the outset Hi everyone. How are you doing. Feels good to be back again.

IMG_6376.JPG
Taking care of plants in my terrace food garden

Who am I?

I would like to leave out the existential angle to the question and only answer some physical and material facts about me here. 😁

My name is Prabal Mallick and I belong to Odisha, India. I grew up in different parts of Odisha and then different parts of India in my later life. I earned a bachelors degree from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur in 2002 and worked as a VLSI engineer after that for over 13 years. But painting is my passion and I have been drawing, sketching and painting since childhood. I started exhibiting my works around 2010 and dumped my job to pursue art full time in 2016.I have about twenty exhibitions till now and have received Odisha state Lalitkala Academy award for painting a couple of years back. Now a days I paint, teach art, make art related films and also write about art, life and education. Do check out My Website to see more of my art.
IMG_6943.jpg
One of my outdoor watercolor paintings

And yes I also enjoy growing my own food. I have been growing organic food on our terrace for many years now. I also train people for the same and founded Organic Terraceto help people out looking to grow food organically. I am also author of the book Organic Urban Farming, The Indian Way which is a concise guide to organic gardening in constrained urban spaces.
IMG_7171.jpg
One of my sketches from life


So that was about me. And in my new innings I am looking to contribute more and better and hopefully it can make a difference somewhere.
Cover.jpg
The cover of my book

Sort:  

Welcome back on hive, I am sure, we will definitely see some master pieces soon.

Wow, your painting skills are amazing man. Really like it.

Thanks @travel-cuisine. Stay in touch

We hope the blockchain becomes a home you can live always

👋 Hi @prabalmallick, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community