You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Good Memories" ...dancing voluptuously onto a little brick. πŸ”₯πŸŒ‹πŸš’

in GEMS β€’ 4 years ago

Damn, I wish I could give you more than a few bugs!

While reading I was wondering all the time: This must have been your teenager years. How the hell did you all manage to get the parents away for these parties to happen? Maybe easier than I can think of, but my teenage years I was living together with a whole bunch of other children/teenagers in a large building and we (almost) never had the chance to get a place to throw some sort of party. Always some grown ups around to not let us indulge in this way. Ok ok, my upbringing is less from standard, since my parents had a very mobile job, I spend most of my upbringing in boarding schools for the mere fact that I had to attend school and home schooling was not allowed. Anyways, since those days, I did my fair share of dancing, and unlike many, with a handful of decades on the clock, I'm still finding myself on dance floors on a regular bases (up to Covid times and looking very much forward to the end of all lockdown and semi-lockdown rules) so I can pick up the habit to enjoy music through big speaker systems, at some cozy outdoor festival with likeminded.

Lately I'm hardly blogging and when I share something, its mostly not about music, or music itself. But your post brings some positive vibes in my veins again to share some of my favourite albums and tunes. Love the tracks you shared. Not being a typical rock fan, the earlier times of rock is something I can relate to much more than the rock of the 80s, 90s and beyond.

Sort: Β 

While reading I was wondering all the time: This must have been your teenager years. How the hell did you all manage to get the parents away for these parties to happen?

Oh yes, these sweet sudden dancing 'covens' happened in my teenager years indeed. :)

How the hell did you all manage to get the parents away for these parties to happen?

Haha well, actually no need to get the parents away. Since they all knew that we all were just a bunch of horny but young saints. LoL
Many parents, perhaps the most reckless and avant-garde, sometimes even joined us on the dance floor too. };)

And yes, I can understand very well your own experiences. Since you seems a lot younger than me and no doubt these modern times are very, very different from those in the 60s & 70s.

I suspect that from the 80s onwards, the possibility of going to the attack in search of conquests, more than anything else, used to happen outside our homes. Mainly in discos, clubs, clandestine parties in some nightclubs, raves and many outdoor festivals as it is still the case today.

That's why I feel that these ordinary domestic parties in our own homes were so unique and memorable nowadays. When every horny youngster of that time actually had the chance to rub their humanity against that cute chick at the cadence of slow and mellow songs all night long until the conquest has been crystalized.

Lately I'm hardly blogging and when I share something, its mostly not about music, or music itself. But your post brings some positive vibes in my veins again to share some of my favourite albums and tunes.

Oh! sorry to hear about that my friend. I know you are an authentic music lover. And I'm very glad to know that my post has had a somewhat positive effect on you to encourage you to retake the interest in share some of your favourite albums and tunes too. :)

Love the tracks you shared. Not being a typical rock fan, the earlier times of rock is something I can relate to much more than the rock of the 80s, 90s and beyond.

Haha, I love that you liked them. And yes, that's true that most of the bewitching magic, feelings & soul of those legendary slow songs to dance on a little brick from the 60s and 70s, somewhat, most of them has been little by little vanishing from the party scene in these current days. ;)

Now, just take this one to steal you a heap of unstoppable goosebumps!! Hahahaha

WOOHOO the Joe Cocker one is classic! I know this more from his performances when he was a little older. One thing strikes me so much, is his voice. Never thought about someones voice doesn't change that much anymore from early adult live to end of life. Hence, listen to the version you shared, I though: Damn, he had that voice on a young age as well! Hahahaha :) I may never seen his young face; While writing this comment and listening, I have a picture of an older Joe Cocker behind my eyes :) Must say, the end of the younger version becomes a little to massive at the end, he took a more relax approach later in his career which I like better, I think. That said, I don't listen to the early days rock too much last decade or so, and may have to get accustomed to the sound again.

Those parties you talked about, we had them sometimes, in school and at friends houses and even in the boarding schools I was. But not more than a few times a year. No adults though :) Yea, more clubs... well Discotheques, back in the 80s when I had my teenage years. Those places where the dance floor was usually kinda empty with all the youngsters standing around the floor because many didn't dare to dance in front of everybodies eyes. Todays (dance) club experience is totally something else. The floor is where the people are, and the sides are more or less empty. With a 5 in my age, I must say, I'm more hanging out at or behind the DJ booth, or backstage, rather then the dance floor, but when enough space is available, and the music is great, I go old school rave style still on the floor :)

Interestingly, the music I like the most to dance to (some of the underground styles of Techno), is music that was initially loved by all those who in the old days would not go the Discotheques, or when they did, they would never hit the dance floor since they would not feel comfortable in doing so. The nerd type so to speak. I'm so happy many of this 'category' people now found their ways to participate in enjoying music together! The early days of Techno (born in Detroit in the early 80s) the artists were nerds, mostly, I suppose because of all technology used. One needed to be a nerd to learn all about all these drum machines, C64, Atari computers and all and how to get music out of them. (ps don't get me wrong, when I mentioned 'nerd', I mean it in a good way; I love nerds and maybe in some way I'm one myself :)

Your post did started me posting a few again through my main account. No music yet, but that'll come sometime down the road :)

I'm even contemplating to try and revive the Q community again. Your (music) posts would perfectly fit :)