Succulents

in GEMS3 years ago

Venture into the desert without experiencing the heat and learn more about these prickly plants. You can do this at the Succulent Garden in the Flower dome at the Gardens by the Bay.

As water-storing desert plants, succulents belong to families such as Cacti, Aloes and Crassulas. Many of these species have sharp spines to protect themselves. A dense cover of blue or grey wax over the surface of their leaves and stems also helps protect them from dehydration and deflect excess UV light in the desert.

Here are some pictures from the Succulent Garden. The Echeveria elegans are symmetrical and so pleasing to look at. I think they are just beautiful.

There are many species of succulents. Within each specie, there are also many varieties. Apart from the common ones that stood out, one has to have a certain knowledge of succulents to tell them apart. I don't have that knowledge. So, in order not to confuse my readers, I will not try to name them - except for the one or two that I am sure of, identified by Google image, no less.

Aloe Aristata Cactus Cacti Succulent.
1.jpg

Mexican Snowball Echeveria elegans.
2.JPG

3.JPG

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

ecency.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Reblog it if you think it worthy. Follow me if you like to read about Life, humour and quotes. Cheers!

Sort:  

Wow! What a nice garden! These plants are quite big! Pity! I couldn’t put them in my salad!! LoL

😀 No, I don't think you want to do that. 😊

I bet a goat or sheep would find these edible!

Cheers.

That, I have no idea. :-)

I guess they won’t allow an experiment! Let a goat visit the garden!! LoL

Yes, that is definitely out of the question - I am sure. lol

Succulents are really remarkable plants they can be so pretty and easy maintenance 👍

I like the Echeveria elegans. They are so pleasing to look at. Maybe one day I will buy meself one of those. 😊👍

You should they are beautiful and easy maintenance 👍