November 8th: The Nature of Art... the Art of Nature

in GEMS3 years ago

I was going to write something art related this weekend, but I got sidetracked by looking out the window by our front door and seeing the multitude of rich fall colors on the Japanese Maple trees along our driveway.

RD0008MapleLeaves5.jpg

And so, instead of delving into the art world, I decided to take my camera outside and let nature be the artist.

As I wandered around, I was reminded of the fact that there is great beauty in simplicity. And I was reminded of how we often overcomplicate things that are better left really simple.

RD0008MapleLeaves3.jpg

What I mean is, we often feel compelled to "add things" when there is actually nothing to be added, perhaps because we fear that the very basic original idea doesn't reflect "enough work."

Back when we had the gallery, I was often seeing this with some of our contributing artists, who found themselves actually ruining good work by overfinessing it.

RD0008MapleLeaves2.jpg

As the old saying goes: "Less is More."

And that's certainly true of the beauty of nature in fall, as well.

As I came back inside and started looking at all the images I shot, I realized that the ones that worked best had just a few leaves to represent a color... not an entire group of brilliant trees.

RD0008MapleLeaves4.jpg

It has been quite a long time since I have worked on any of my personal art. I used to think that with all the extra time afforded us by having to stay at home due to Covid-19, that I would be creating more, not less. But that's not the way it has turned out.

Aside from the fact that it represents yet another "shortfall" in our financial lives, it simply is what it is.

RD0008MapleLeaves1.jpg

In the meantime, I thoroughly enjoyed walking around and taking in all the colors. Alas, photos can never quite depict what we see with our own eyes.

However, there is something extremely healing about watching nature. About just being with nature.

Thanks for reading!

20201108
H0008/0244
All images are my own

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the support — appreciate it!