Northern Blue Jay

in GEMS2 years ago (edited)

This watercolor painting is from a series of bird paintings rendered back in 2020.

Blue Jays from around the United States migrate in flocks to the Great Lakes and Atlantic coasts lines. However, this is only a tiny percentage of Blue Jays where the remaining birds go is a mystery. Blue Jays can be found inhabiting their natural habitat through the winter. Some migrate, some don't, and no one can figure out why.

img_2380.jpeg
15 x 11 Hot Press 300lb Cotton Watercolor Paper, Watercolor, and Gouache

I've heard hawk calls and only found Blue Jays; now I know what's going on! The birds can mimic hawk vocalization, and it is thought to notify others in their territory that hawks are out hunting.

When the Blue Jays head crest is flattened, this is a sign the bird is at ease. Usually, the head crest is flattened when the bird feeds and hangs around family members.

img_2381.jpeg

An interesting note about the bird's blue color, the pigment in the feathers, called melanin, is brown but reflects blue caused by scattered light through cells on the feathers' barbed surface. The black markings are different from one individual to the next, which helps the flock identify its members.

Blue Jays can live at least 26 years in the wild. Maybe even longer because a banded bird was found dead in a fishing net in Newfoundland/Miquelon territory in 2016, the bird was banded in 1989.

All About Birds

.

some_textA link to My Blog

Sort:  

Awesome painting, with the soft water colours in the background and the stronger Gouache colours on the bird it makes it come to life.

I like the soft background and vibrant details. The design is my go-to when painting birds. The focus on feather texture, design, and color is pleasing to my mind's eye, thank you 🥂

I've heard hawk calls and only found Blue Jays; now I know what's going on! The birds can mimic hawk vocalization, and it is thought to notify others in their territory that hawks are out hunting.

I have a female Harris's hawk. The Blue Jays would probably go crazy around me. But I live in Hungary, and there are no Blue Jays here.

I bet the crows will go crazy. The crows here will attack hawks. I've seen them do this in our backyard. I've always wanted to have a hawk, but my chickens would object😂😂

I walked (and I will walk) a lot with my Harris's hawk so far. Luckily/fortunately I have not had any incidents with crows so far.

Do you know what the difference is between a raven and a crow? The crow has shorter pinion feathers (feathers on the tip of the wing). So the difference between the birds is a matter of a pinion 😂😂

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @albuslucimus.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

In the spring of 2019 a pair of blue Jays made a nest in the pine tree branch that hangs in front of our door, and it was awesome and hilarious because these Jays were dive bombing everyone who walked up the steps!

One of the babies decided to hang around and a few months ago he showed up with a mate,so maybe we'll have some more babies next spring :0)

This bird is very similar with the magpie and you have drawn it quite nicely with its color combination, birds lifestyle is also impressive too.