Spider Webs and Dewdrops

in GEMS2 years ago

I painted this picture because it's an easy subject. During mid-summer, I was taking care of my Grandkids, and I had a lot of garden work, but the summer weather in Tulsa, Oklahoma, was 90-100 degrees for months!

img_1715.jpg
10 x 8 inches, mixed media paper, watercolor, gouache, and Prisma pen.

I was exhausted from cooking, cleaning, outside yard and garden work, driving kids to summer school, and entertaining the kids.

img_1700.jpg

I don't have to struggle with proportions, and I love painting dewdrops and ladybugs. I will be creating more of these fun paintings next summer.

img_1695.jpg

The Grandkids are growing up fast and think Grandma is an old fuddy-duddy. What youth does not understand is there is nothing new under the sun. I've already been where they are going.

some_textA link to My Blog

Sort:  

Hello @reddust, After long time I could see on Hive with beautiful drawing. After see closer looks I thought this was real environment. Leaves and spider web beautiful created and painted by you.

Sorry, I missed your reply; thank you! This was a fun piece to work on 🙏

Yes it is, thank you ❤️🙏

Dewdrops are a great subject. Fun to paint, and philosophically profound—well, at least in Japan, where they represent the impermanence of life and are much used in haiku for that effect.

Anyway, that's a fun painting. Very nice!

I can see the impermanence and beauty of life in a dewdrop. Try and touch it, and the illusion is shattered. Thank you 🙏

Did you do the black on the dew drops with water color or prisma pen?

Do you find it difficult to go in with water color and make the drops round
(anti-drawing a circle, where all the colors bleed randomly, all over the place)

Bleeding only happens when I work wet on wet with a good paper. Poor quality paper will bleed even when the bottom layer of paint is dry. I use an opaque watercolor called gouache. Also, I found quality paint is helpful. I prefer Winsor and Newton. Prisma ink pens will clog up going over Gouache and heavily pigmented watercolor paint, so I use posca pens to work on top of the color. I only used the Prisma pens on light pigmented objects.

I used black watercolor for the dewdrops. I work from light washes to dark and then use gouache paints. I don't have problems with precise shapes like dewdrops if I follow my rules.

So nice painting! I like this kind of scenes with the ladybugs ^_^

Thank you, the subjects are my favorite. They are easy to render😂❤️🙏

How are you dear friend @reddust good afternoon
What a beautiful work, I love that you have recreated nature
I appreciate that you let us know your beautiful work.
I take this opportunity to wish you a great day

Thank you, dear friend; I enjoy your work as well.

It reminds me a morning! Beautiful as usual!

$WINE


Congratulations, @theguruasia You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @reddust.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.282

I seems to me like 3D graphics art while i have seen it for the first time, beautifully painted and more ever this platform miss you a lot, you should keep continue with your artwork at the free time or while you wish, best of luck.