Drinking Buddies

in GEMS4 years ago

If you lived in the Philippines, chances are you may already have and idea about what I'll be talking about here. But being that we have friends outside of the Filipino drinking circle, this might be an entertaining enough post to you.

It's Saturday night and on a normal night, all those party people may be found in either a videoke bar, a grill bar, a topnotch elitist bar in the metro, or maybe just at the backyard, with a couple of drinking buddies, singing their hearts out or just simply laughing their butts off. Wherever they may choose to be, there's one thing in common, a seemingly endless supply of booze. And knowing my fellow Filipinos, it is rarely common for a drinking session early, silently, or peacefully. We wait until either our spouses come pick us up, all our money run out or our alter egos appear.

I had my fair share of drunk moments. And I have seen quite a lot of those alter egos appear before my eyes. Which is why I give to you the different types of drinking buddies in the Philippines. Note though that the type of persons I may describe to you may be some of my friends (it may be me) but I will try my best to be very careful not to drop their names or hints to who they are.

The Snoozebox Junkie

Most of the time, these are the ones who are victims of pranks. They just wake up the next morning with unexplained drawings all over their face (or their body). If it's a guy, he's lucky if he wakes up in his underwear (also heavily drawn with colorful markers) if she's a girl, the most we've done is draw mustaches using lipstick on their faces.

The Intraday Reporter

This is a loverboy or lovergirl who will be seen mostly looking down at the phone, texting or video chatting their girlfriend/boyfriend. They need to show who they're with, what they're drinking, who they're sitting beside with, how much booze they've drank, how drunk is everybody. Basically, this type of drinking buddy ends up the not so drunk one because of the updates they needed to sent. I knew someone who needs to send a selfie for everything - the walk to the bar, while ordering, while eating, while singing, not sure if they also need to send a selfie while in the jon.

These two types are basically the least noisy and destructive types. Well, the snoozebox junkie is basically the receiver of prank so per se, they are still peaceful (sleeping) allthroughout the drinking session.

Let's move to the less quiet types.

The Crying Lady

Usually this is a girl, I seldom encountered a boy cryer on drinking bouts. Most of the time, they have deep and troubled relationships be it with a boyfriend or parents that are too strict. They may also be experiencing something intense in their life like being sacked, or not getting that promotion. The drinking session is most probably because of this person.

The Comforter

The bestfriend of the Crying Lady. This may also be a guy wanting to win points from the Crying Lady. They are the shoulder to cry on, the tissue holder, the giver of sensible advice. Note though that there's a chance that crying lady may not remember everything so if you're a comforter in a drinking session, do yourself a favor, just hug the girl. They most probably will remember the feeling, not the words you said.

The English Speaking Expert

I am guilty of this. Once I sip just enough alcohol, my english speaking alter ego comes out of the open. It's not full on grammatically correct english - I know, my friends recorded it - but I tell you I am super confident as I speak. There's very little subject-verb agreement but I can say me and my friends were having the time of our lives.

The Concert King/Queen

There are two types of this. Both just loses their inhibitions giving them enough courage to sing at the top of their lungs. One type is the shy type singer. They have wonderful voice but needs some alcohol to shake off the nerves. While the other one is the not so gifted but deep inside really loves singing. But hey, when people are having fun at a drinking session, there's no judgement. As long as our ears are still intact after the drinking session, then there's no harm done.

Speaking of losing inhibitions, let's move to the confidence boost types of drinking buddies.

The Liberated

These are the ones that would say yes to any dare you give them once they get drunk. I've seen girls kiss another girl because of a dare. Oh, and there's strip poker. Usually they are the ones that initiate this game. Whatever you do, keep an eye on the Liberated, some of the fights also starts because of this.

The Daredevil

I once swam in the sea while I was drunk. I just felt so brave I wanted to face one of my greatest fear 0 swimming in the sea. Maybe it's because deep in my mind I am with friends who are professional swimmers, or maybe it's purely because of alcohol. I don't remember that much about that swim but it felt awesome. Too bad, there's no video. But I swore to never do it again because I realized how dangerous that is. So kids, don't do this, ever.

The War Monger

Ever wonder why some drinking sessions end up in fighting? I don't think anyone wonders at all. LOL. It's all because of the alcohol. There are some drinking buddies that just wants to go into a fight when they're drunk. It's their high. They feel like they can take on anybody when they're drunk. I've encountered two types of this. The first one concentrates on fighting with their partner. They may shout at each other, there may be some physical violence but when the people around them try to stop them, they will listen. But the other type is at war with everybody. Even the passersby are their enemy. This one is more difficult to pacify. Because even the Comforter may not be able to control them.

The Crow Caller

This is the most common type (and also the most gross) of drunk I've seen in all those drinking sessions I attended. There is always someone who would start "calling the crows" when they get drunk. In tagalog, we say tumatawag ng uwak which means they are throwing up. One may still be able to carry themselves a little gracefully and bring themselves into the bathroom, but there are some who ends up belching it all out right there and then. Like I said. Gross. There should be a cleanup team if you're drinking with this type.

The Amnesiac

They don't remember anything. They will need proof once alcohol has subsided from their system. They will not remember how they got home, who they were with, everything just goes blank. If you're this kind of drunk, never ever ever have a drink with people you think you can't trust.

While my drinking days are behind me, I still remember all of those times me and my friends spent. we had drinking sessions because a boyfriend cheated, a friend got promoted, we missed each other, or we just felt like hanging out. Those were the days.

It's a Saturday and back then, at this time, I may be at Tagaytay, sipping Bulalo after another fun videoke and drinking session with my friends. I'm just glad I was able to enjoy my youth and I am lucky I was never in bad company when I get myself drunk.

If you're young and you're reading this, go ahead, enjoy your youth. Just don't abuse it. Be responsible for your actions. Don't forget to drink lots of water after your drinking session. Stay hydrated. Don't drink coffee, it wouldn't help with the hangover. Thank me later.

¨ðº°˜¨ ¨˜°ºð¨

Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.

Sort:  

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 31000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks.:)

You're welcome @romeskie👍🙂

This post is intended to the young ones. This must be reblog

Thanks mami.