Easy Retro Posters and the gift of giving :)

in GEMS4 years ago

Yep...Boredom is sometimes hard to evade when you are stuck at home waiting for a virus cure to be found so you can venture back in to the free world.I do feel like writing from a sci-fi universe but unfortunately for many of us , social distancing measures are in place. I do hope all of you and your close ones are safe and healthy. And I do think there are some stuff to be done to have fun with your photography.
I really love shooting and walking around town to find cool new and hidden places but that's frankly not an option currently so i try and have fun with editing and experimenting .
So scrolling for new apps in the photography category today I found one to try.
It's called "Retromatic".
This is not an app review and it's totally not sponsored by anyone ( I don't even know if there are sponsored posts on this platform)
Many times here I've talked about all things Soviet (art, architecture etc - not politics tough) so I found that this app can do kind of that. It helps you create retro style posters and edit pictures in layers so you can combine and cut out stuff from different shots. So here are a few that i did today (took around 4-5 minutes for each).


The first one is of my lady - @misskate - It's not her favorite photo but I like it a lot This is my first try

IMG-2730.JPG

Here is the original -

IMG-2643-min.JPG

There is a diversity of styles you can achieve sing the app. Next in line is my buddy Peter who I am trying to bring to Hive - he is a really good fashion photographer and produces great images for big brands - he also has a quite "charecteristic" look so I often shoot him

IMG-2731.JPG

The app lets you duplicate and mirror images so that was the test of that. The original looks like that.

Ultralight--MG-2537-min.JPG

I shot it on the first day i got a new flash and went out with it and the fisheye lens (that I love so much) to show my friend.

While on the fisheye topic i also did this one -

IMG-2732.JPG

This is a compilation of the shot of the trolley -

IMG-1960-min.jpg

and also a shot I did on film of this beautiful building -

Whitagram-Image.JPG

Then I added the sign on top of it and the text inside it from the app. Again just basic functions used in conjunction to create something that is not default to the app but elementary to make.
Both of these photos are taken in Sofia- Bulgaria and that's why it says Sofia.

The last one i did from an Instagram shot. I saw this pic of a Shosho - One of the coolest and most interesting directors I've worked with and also a really fun guy outside the film set. The sign above him is of a road that carries his both names that he apparently found somewhere in Bulgaria so as it looked kind of old school already I decided to send him back the "Remastered" version of it -

IMG-2737.JPG

which originally looked like this -

IMG-2734 (1).PNG

And with that, the photos i did today end :D I'm surely going to do more stuff with this app in the near future.
Usually i don't go wild with editing and graphic design in my photography and to be honest i see apps like that more of a gimmick. But in reality even the gimmickiest apps yo can find can be a fun experiment. Also I find it quite fun to make a surprise like this that for people - take one of their social media shots and re-edit it in a fun way - It's like a little tiny free gift that is always fun to give and receive.

If you want me to share how I used the app, let me know in the comments and I wight do a small tutorial .
If you try this or another weird app, inspired by this or have used a cool photo app and want to share it with someone- I'm listening :D.
Have fun and stay healthy everyone :)

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I love these poster/collages, very cool!

Thanks :) They are real easy to make.

Tracing seems clunky to me. But I’m using a fat finger rather than a stylus. 😅

Will have to play with it for a while I guess. Thanks for the heads up about this app.

Yes, I have the same issue combined with the small screen of the iphone se (the old one). What i do with apps that involve tracing is to zoom as much as they let me and the rest is patience. I would still use a stylus if @misskate lets me use hers :D