You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Collecting Stamps Does Not Pay Off

in GEMSlast year (edited)

I remember my Dad and I collecting stamps when I was very young. It was fun. Then moved on much like you described. I think my mother just handed the whole thing over to a dealer for some small amount. One thing about stamps is the unused ones are generally more valuable. A 10 cent stamp for example unused is always worth that 10 cents. At least that's what we did way back when. The artwork is pretty cool too. There are some other ways of doing it too.Like buying sheets of them and blocks or groups. Large numbers of them and they are always worth what's printed on them. It's a thing my fathers friend did. He invested in EVERYTHING! Coins, metals, houses etc. It's weird to imagine what I would have if I kept at it. Since the 60's!

Sort:  

Sticking to something is rather difficult. But it can pay off I guess. I mean the monetary aspect if of course just one of many. Some simply enjoy owning them. Perhaps when we move more and more into the digitized world, paper things will get more valuable. I am sure in some not too distant point in the future, we won't have any stamps anymore and then no letters as well...

I went and looked the US post office stamps for sale and it was really pretty cool. Lots of nice artwork and a ton of different things for sale. It makes me wonder if more people are collecting than I would have thought.