A new very special week

in GEMS15 days ago

image.png

Foto from Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Today a new week starts, but it is a very special one as we celebrate the 22nd anniversary of our son who is in his last college year working on the thesis he will present in June to graduate.

When you have kids, seeing them grow and become older makes you realize you are also becoming older, with the difference you are quite older than them. It is nice to have him still living with us as he attended college in town, but I know he will soon fly away, and although I will wish him the best and will always be by his side, a new lifetime period will commence as there will always be an empty space in the house. We will celebrate tonight during dinner when we all will be home.

On Tuesday it is Sant Jordi, (Saint George), the unofficial day for our country, Catalonia, the city gets full of colored roses and book stands which fill all the streets with authors signing the new releases to those wishing to stand in line.

When is sunny, it is a beautiful day to walk around town for a while, get lost in the thousands of book booths, and choose one or two to take home with you. Over the years, the date has become the International Book Day and many other places celebrate it, but the vitality on the streets of every town with the books and roses makes Barcelona the perfect city to celebrate it.

On Saturday I have planned a new trip to Portugal. This time I will go alone as my wife can not come with me due to work. My idea is to relax while doing some farm work and organize for early June when I plan to establish permanently for the summer to renovate the small tiny house on the farm and the village's old stable.

I have already started preparing stuff for the trip as I want to do several things while there, but honestly, when I get there I feel so relaxed I just do not care too much about my duties, I do some work on the farm and let the days go by while also doing some work on the computer. This time though, I plan to bring my old mountain bike. It is a 30-year-old one, with no suspension but enough to explore some of the tracks around the village and enjoy cycling around. I can't wait to get there but today there is a family celebration and as I spend the morning with my folks who are getting older and older, I can't wait to see the face of our son while he blows the candles on the bday cake.

Sort:  

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏