Esquerrà Cave in Garraf Natural Park

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

image.png

Yesterday, while biking, I just passed along one of the longest caves in the country. It is located in the Garraf Natural Park, a protected area south of Barcelona wich is a Karst . I like to stop and take a look most of the time I take that ride. There is a clear danger sign as you approach the place and it is always scary to get close to take a shot.

IMG_20200718_120529.jpg.

You can see right here the bike ride I took. The cave is located in Km18 where you can see I stopped to take some shots.

Screenshot 20200718 at 12.56.36.png

My father in law used to be an active speleologist and has gone down that and many other caves around the area. The cave is gorgeous from the inside but you need to be an experienced explorer or go with one to be able to get deep inside. Here's a view of the entrance from inside.

image.png Source

Or this other one from a group starting the descend.

Screenshot 20200719 at 18.51.18.png Source

You can see many other pictures like this one in this link

Here's a profile of the whole cave, as you can check is quite big and takes a whole day to explore.

image.png Source

And here another view of the entrance and the vast gallery which opens once inside.

Screenshot 20200719 at 19.00.52.png

The whole area is full of caves and I remember this one named on behalf of the man who found it. It is called Emili Sabate. He was one of the guys in the group of my father in law and I remember when he was still alive and came to visit one day. He told me they were in expedition towards another cave and took a rest. He is a very active guy and was playing in the ground with a stick and all of the sudden the ground went down leaving a big hole. Here's what they found inside. They decided to give the cave his name on behalf of his discovering.

Screenshot 20200719 at 18.53.31.png Source

Sort:  

Jo l'he fet aquest, tambe la FERLA i l'avenc de Can sadurni ;-)

I've explored many caves in the past, but they are pretty easy. That one looks really mysterious. You should brave it one day! 😊