Onboarding new users

in GEMS29 days ago

1000011819.jpg

Today I woke up early as usual but on my regular bed, instead of the one I have been using for the past two weeks. I turned on the computer and did my regular crypto daily homework while watching the sun rise which feels great after so many rainy days in Portugal. I have been hardly doing my daily crypto homework for the past few days except for Hive posting and voting.

It is bank fest in Barcelona, so I will have an easy and slow day to recover from the long driving trip. As I keep doing it, my mind gets more and more used to the distance and it is not as tiring as previous ones but it is still 10/11 hours driving. Yesterday though, I was with my wife and we could share driving time which gave me some time to relax during the trip.

I brought my computer and cellphone with me and was able to check the markets and post in Hive but our place in Portugal is far from being comfortable plus I am always trying to take care of too many things while there, so several of my regular crypto todo's need to get up to date.

One of the things I did was onboarding a couple of new users into Hive. One of them is @pedro24843, a retired Spaniard living in the village next door, the other is @sisiro, who is running one of the bars in town together with Eugenio. They help many of the newcomers and we were not an exception. Sisiro is from Thailand and was very kind while I was stopping every once in a while letting me wash some of the stuff I was using while chatting and having a milk coffee some of the mornings.

I was able to introduce both of them to Hive and give her a few tips on how to start interacting. I told them the importance of getting familiar with how everything works here, how to follow, comment, vote, and join communities, and think about your introductory post. She and Eugenio are traveling to Thailand next week for a couple of months so hopefully, she will get a million photos to share with us once she starts posting here.

During the time we spent in Portugal, we also met a Canadian couple who is relocating to the village and another couple from The Nederlands who has a Quinta almost next door to ours. I hope I can onboard some of them too and we end up having a small hive group in the area. Eugenio is quite well-connected and I was sharing with him the idea of making a few classes to onboard newbies in Castelo Branco. He will try to arrange a meeting with the local Camera to see if that sounds like a good idea to them.

I plan to have an easy day, unpacking and stopping by my folks to bring them a couple of presents I bought for them. I hope they like them, especially my mum, as I have gotten them almond chocolate pearls and she loves chocolate!

image.png

Sort:  

Your mom will love that almond in chocolate, well, I would like them :D

Great for onboarding new people, I hope they will like the Hive experience once they start 👏

I'll "try" to keep some at home to let you taste them next time you come to town, but I can not promise they will last! 😂

I guess they already disappeared until now ;D