You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Patch of Flowers

in GEMS3 years ago

You found me!!!
I can never make prose, I had to borrow from old-world authors, LOL!
I hope you have a delightful day.
I get to spend part of the morning in the park to visit families that are homeless.
I bring them canned ravioli, spaghetti, and the like (the kind that opens easy, and plastic spoons), ad roasted chicken from Costco.
One thing that strikes me, is that the children that not seem to mind and just play!

Sort:  

Kids always seem to fit into the life they are dealt. I used to hand out socks and gloves in the park across from the White House that had a lot of veterans camping out and such. Then, the governent cracked down and got rid of the mess.

My girls and I would sometimes give out toothbrushes or dental stimulators. A little pack with soap and shampoo. Anything. We put little packs together to hand out. Food was basic like that or coupons for one of the local eateries. I know, McDonalds isn't great, but, when you have a family, sometimes a hot meal is all that counts. A few restaurants gave me meal coupons.

I bow down to you. That is such a kind thing to do. You have a heart of gold. ❤️

I've been doing this since I could afford to, about the time I stacked. I do it solo... going on for 3 1/2 years here now and about 2 1/2 in my Sacramento. I would give out soaps too (pre-covid, I take toiletries that are from hotels when I travel to give away).
So nice of you to teach your girls!!!

I take toiletries too! :)) It is a parent's job to teach the kids. I wanted them to grow up into good humans. ❤️