You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Response to: The Problem with D.Buzz Embed Buzz Button.

in GEMS3 years ago

Steemit was originally pitched as a "Reddit alternative", but it never lived up to that, instead being more like a fancy block explorer. The recent introduction of communities sort of brought it back towards that vision (subreddits) but there is still a vocal part that think Steem/Hive should be only a long format blogging platform.

The thing is, that's not really what Reddit is, which is primarily sharing links and discussion, which doesn't really happen a whole lot on this blockchain.

That's why I'm excited about d.buzz because it's the first step in the "right direction" for a decentralized social media that resembles what people actually use (in this case Twitter).

And it's mobile friendly too, something a lot of projects and people here (for whatever reason) are very resistant to, when mobile is where people do most of their social media.

It's been kind of frustrating to watch how things have been going on this chain for as long as I've been a part of it, because so many times it seems like it's been self sabotaged.

With the way things are going with mainstream social media with further censorship banning etc. this chain needs to drop the elitist attitude of fussing over what has "value" and focus more on making it easy enjoyable and fun for people to use.

If not I know things will continue to flounder along as it has for the last four years or so in regards to price and engagement.

Sort:  

I very much agree with your statement here, that for a long time... a few of the old guard control the reins and dictate what brings value to the community. While I understand sometimes you don't want to shake the status quo, and sometimes you want to make sure people are taking advantage of things... If our communities wishes grow further we have to be ready to accept all types of people and that means all types of content. can't be peoples moms forever, gotta let the child go play.

Full disclosure : I do work with D.Buzz as their content author. The views expressed here in this comment are not that of the companies but mine on a personal level.

When we started out and released version 1.0 of D.Buzz, it was met with fanfare but then a lot of really big negative down votes and blacklisting right away, people didn't want to take time to fully understand, we moved rapidly and change things however when people lock their minds in on a positive or negative they stayed and people feared the reprise of higher power (not voting their content anymore, or kissing up to larger stake holders in hopes of a large upvote)... it took diligent work on the part of @chrisrice to talk and sort out what's going on truly. (* that guy worked so hard it's crazey, and has a heart of gold I tell you ... PURE GOLD)

With version 2.0 we have gotten better and with new version 3.0 again one step better, I do know that they are planning a lot of really big things, innovative things (A lot of big things there already moving behind-the-scenes) to try to address these issues outlined, and more... Makes me PUMPED to be part of D.Buzz. However it is not my place to release that information at this point until it is approved.

There will always be those who milk the reward pool, who post one line comments or articles, however there will be a lot more who post great content, who posed thoughtful short form as well as longform content. We cannot limit the enjoyment of the many for fear of what the few might do.

All is being said @ahmadmanga you bring up valid points, its freedom of speech, its about expressing yourself! There has to be some sort of line drawn in the sand right? I do thank you for bringing your concerns, I will send a link to Chris as well. :)

Happy new year, much love

I didn't hear about the history of DBuzz, but I did know it was hard to make it accepted by the larger Hive userbase.

It's sad but I also think there will be always users who milk the reward pool and the battle against them is a losing one.

Comments here made me realize that a lot of what I said was on wrong assumptions, but I'm glad I said them because I would never knew how wrong I was otherwise.

So on point!!! 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼

This hits the nail on the head. I have only been here a short time and have already seen more than one person chased away by content police. Fortunately and perhaps unfortunately for some, this is a public blockchain, meaning all valid tx are valid tx. It doesn't matter what people's preferences are & we will soon find out How censorship resistant the chain actually is

The only censorship possible is if witnesses agree to remove content which happened on steem after the whole Justin Sun bot witnesses fiasco. As long as witnesses remain real independent people I'm not too worried about censorship on this chain. And despite what many people think, downvotes are not censorship, the content is still on chain (though to be fair it can make it harder to see depending on which interface you are accessing the chain with).

I'm slowly transitioning from trying to see if something has a value to focusing on what makes the experience enjoyable. I was against any form of centralized login system last year (STEEM days.) Now, I support anything that makes it easier for the average person to joing, Twitter login? That's a good idea for me now! It's not like something like this didn't happen with Bitcoin.

this chain needs to drop the elitist attitude of fussing over what has "value" and focus more on making it easy enjoyable and fun for people to use.

I agree with making things easy, and I love the idea of Metamask & Twitter logins.

But I would do it in a way where crypto keys are NOt saved on private servers.

At least that is my line of thinking now.. remember #HIVE is not just a social media platform, it's a Bank Vault, so security and crypto let safety is super important!

Yeah, that's what I believe the right way too...

But I would do it in a way where crypto keys are NOt saved on private servers.