PART II ... DIY... MAKE YOUR WIFE HAPPY!!!

in GEMS4 years ago

Day two of the fence build started out by going to Beardsley's Sawmill.
As I mentioned in my prior post, I love going there. Excuse the language, but it's a woodworker's wet-dream.
Again I started out early, and I was there to greet the boys at the mill as they arrived.
With a big smile, I pretended to be looking down at my watch and shaking my head, like they were late for work. If you're the owner of the business, I guess you really can't be late.
Buying lumber from Beardsley's Sawmill for over 20 years now, we've become rather friendly.

The best part about buying lumber from these guys is the price.
3 - 1x8x12
6 - 1X8x10
4 - 1x8x8
2 - 1x4x0
2 - 1x12x10
2 - 2x4x10

All for a grand total of $92.00, and being that all the lumber is rough sawn, all the dimensions are true.

By 8:25 AM I was back in the truck heading home.
By 9:30 AM I was ready to rock and roll, lumber off-loaded onto the horses, extension cord and 3way all juiced up, tools out and at the ready.

The straight edge you see sitting on top of the two posts will be used to determine level between the 10' 6" span

IMG_1476.JPG

Did I happen to tell you how much I like wood? The circumference of this bad boy has got to be over 18 feet. My wingspan is 7' and my arms aren't close to being halfway around this majestic White Oak.

IMG_1861.JPG

After establishing level, the rails went up very quickly.

IMG_1477.JPG

Fence complete except for some trimming of the end of the boards.

IMG_1483.JPG

Seat support framed.

IMG_1485.JPG

For the bench seat, I used a six-foot piece of live-edge white oak. White Oak is a great wood for using outdoors. It will be there long after I'm gone, and I ain't planning on going anywhere soon.

IMG_1486.JPG

With the seat in place and secured, it was time to add a couple of shelves for @farm-mom's flowers. That girl sure does love her flowers. If you follow her, just wait and see, you're in for a treat.

IMG_1488.JPG

The wood for the seat is 16 inches wide, no seems, that's always a good thing!

IMG_1492.JPG

Overnight the pigmentation of the wood has taken on a beautiful pink color. It will not last for long, as the sun will bleach it out in a few weeks.

IMG_1493.JPG

A late addition to the game was to make a tabletop for the fire pit.

IMG_1489.JPG

It sure will hide a mess when we are not burning a fire. Once again, a great idea by #farm-mom.
Whenever I go to the mill, I always buy some extra boards and I had just enough to make a 6' x 6' top.

IMG_1495.JPG

I built a frame for the top that would fit inside the top rim of the iron pit. This would keep it from shifting.

IMG_1496.JPG

With all of the pieces made and ready to go, the top was completed in 15 minutes.

IMG_1497.JPG

This table will serve many purposes, including giving my wife another area to stage her planters, dirt, and trays of flowers.

IMG_1498.JPG

Thanks for taking a look, I hope you enjoyed!

Sort:  

Nice work! What kind of wood are you using for the fence?

Hello @amberyooper, the fence rails are Eastern Hemlock. It is a great wood for using outdoors, most of the barns in this area are constructed using hemlock and some of them are over 150 years old and the ones that have been maintained are still standing.

Here is a barn that I worked on. Besides the entrance ramp that we replaced, the barn is in great shape, and the entire barn was constructed using hemlock.

IMG_4583 (1).JPG

The posts were made from hard maple, another wood that stands up to the elements.

Thanks for taking the time to view this post. by the way, great question.

Stay safe and have a wonderful day!

Hug that tree!

Yes, I'm a tree huger and I have had a love affair with wood since I've been a kid, banging nails with my dad. Thanks for the reply @hiveqa

Excellent job! I especially like the table top.

We have a small sawmill owner on the top of the mountain and we buy often from him for projects like this. My husband LOVES the REALLY straight wood and full sizes.

Thanks for the compliment @goldenoakfarm. It's great having a sawmill in the area, right.
It always gives me a good feeling supporting small operations like this, rather than the big box stores.

Have a great day!!

Way to go to make your wife happy

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work

Thank you very much @appreciator. Your generosity is so appreciated.
Thanks for featuring this post in the daily content rewards, you made my day.

Excellent work, @thebigsweed. Your wife will surely appreciate your hard work and the finished product, too.

My husband loves woodwork as well, but just needs to be more enthused. His attention to detail is remarkable.

Thanks for stopping in @evlachsblog. Your hubby must be a good guy. Paying attention to detail pays off when a project is complete. When you step back from the finished project, it's nice to see that everything you imagined has been accomplished without any flaws.

You're welcome. Yes, he really is a good guy!!! I am so blessed. He helps me with some of my projects that I can use at school (I am an early childhood educator) and those craft projects are for long-term use. He said that in everything he does, he does it to perfection or not do it at all.

An early childhood educator, you must have the patience of a saint.
I was also an educator. I was a special education teacher for 30 years. I worked with middle school children with behavioral issues. I loved every minute of my career.

I was initially a high school teacher, but moving to Australia from the Philippines, I observed a huge difference between the behaviour of the students here and from my home country. I thought I'm just not cut out to be a high school teacher here. So I applied for a relief teaching position in a Christian private school here from where I live, and thankfully, they accepted me. The school's Early Learning Centre offered me to work there, and since 2015, I have been teaching in ELC, and I really love the atmosphere, working with my fellow early childhood educators and the children.

you must have the patience of a saint

haha!!! I can be patient, but sometimes these young people do push their boundaries and my patience is always tested, that's for sure! But I love my job... I consider it my ministry.