# Eating healthy- Why junk and some guides to eat healthy

in GEMS4 years ago


I am not a food nutritionist so I will not talk about the foods you should eat, but I will talk a little about why we eat junk and some benefits of eating healthy.

Most of us know the benefits of eating healthy. It helps keeps you in good shape. You have energy and increase your productivity. Also, it reduces the risk of some diseases and improves your health.
It is obvious that there are good reasons for us to eat healthy, but why do we eat junk?

The first thing and main is taste. The smells of the food and how it feels in the month. This is what the food scientists called the "orosensation". Salt, sugar and others give our mouth a magnificent sensation and we get stuck to them.

I was having some health challenges that forced me to change my diet. So, I am not a person who started taking vegetable and fruits because I crave for them. I was forced to love it and now it is part of me. I so much fancy fried food. If you don’t place anything on oil, I won’t like it, but the same oil started enlarging my gallbladder, and I had to decimate it. It causes reflux in my belly and I have to stop it.

It is important to eat healthy, and I will give some advice here.

Use small plate

It is difficult to be a vegetarian. Some people are used to eating excess carbohydrate every day, and lots of sweet snacks and candies. Many of these foods have their pleasurable part and worse side. But for those that can’t do without eating them, you should start by changing the size of the plate you use. I have this attitude of finishing every food on my plate, no matter the content. Therefore, I was using a smaller plate to dish food whenever I feel like eating a bit of carbs and it has been working.

Display healthy foods.

First, you need to replace junk with fruits and veggies. Most times when we are working or moving in the house we pick some eatable things around to just chew. Instead of cookies and snacks, you could place Apples, Bananas, or any fruit/veggies you like. This will help you consume more healthy food than junks.

Say No to Temptation

You will face many temptations. You may visit your friends, and they are cooking the sweet unhealthy food that you like to eat. You need to learn how to say no to them. I have found myself in many situations and I had to stick to what I can consume. I am living with my family and I have my separate pot for cooking. My soups are always veggies and I don’t use seasoning. I reduce oil drastically and use a little salt. No matter the taste compare to the ones the rest of my families are eating, I learn to stick to my pot and eat whatever is in there.


This was my dinner last night. I made it with Banana, Avocado and Cucumber.


You can start your journey of eating healthy. It will help you more and you would enjoy living.

Thank you!

Other images are from pixabay.com

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bala41288 from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.