Another memory made for life.....

in GEMS8 months ago

What a weekend this was... One I will never forget. Last Saturday I celebrated my birthday for family and friends, in our own garden. We had arranged a barbecue and lots of drinks haha, it was really hot. Guests were welcome from 3 p.m. When we lined up the guests, we came to the conclusion that it would be very busy, about 70 people. But really all people I really wanted to have at this party.

We had stocked up, the weather was kind to us so there had to be enough beer, soft drinks and wine. In our man cave we have two refrigerators, which I filled with beer, for soft drinks we had 3 containers with ice cubes and we had the wine in a cool box that we still had from our camping days.

Because we were also going to barbecue, we had also rented some tables and benches from a local company so that everyone could sit comfortably while eating, and it immediately created a cozy atmosphere. When the first people arrived I quickly noticed that the beer was going very fast, it was of course so hot and everyone was (apparently) very thirsty. Fortunately, my father-in-law had a great idea to quickly get the beer cold and keep it cold. He went to the local hardware store with my brother and bought a very large cement barrel. He then bought the ice cubes from almost all the supermarkets and dumped them in the barrel. Add a few crates of beer bottles and voila, cold beer in an instant :) Good idea :)

At the end of the afternoon my wife told me that I had to go inside for a while and not come out until she picked me up. At first I looked a bit strange, but of course I did. My niece and I sat in our living room for 20 minutes, all the curtains closed so I couldn't see anything. At one point I heard an instrument, kind of like a sound check. So I had the suspicion that a musician or band was going to play where, how and what, no idea. Then my wife came in and told me to close my eyes and walk out holding her hand. When I walked outside there was indeed a band, and what kind of band. My son on bass, the drummer of his own band and Bram on guitar (a good friend of mine and one of the best guitarists I know) and Richard Joris on vocals, Bram is in a band with Richard and Bram had asked him whether he wanted to participate, and he did... And how... I knew Richard from the local bands, but he does have a reasonable track record...


Source

For example, he was able to sing along with Richie Kotzen a few times, how bizarre and how good. And so he was just standing in my garden playing with my son. I was speechless...

Sam (my son) had asked via Bram if they wanted to play 4 of my most favorite songs.

  • Panama by Van Halen
  • Don't Stop Believing by Journey
  • No more tears by Ozzy Osbourne
  • Gimme Gimme Gimme by Abba

All fantastic songs. At Abba, our singer Kim also came on stage to sing this, and she was so good.

But what touched me most is my son's sincerity, that he organized this for me and also rehearsed the songs himself.... So proud of him, I can't thank him enough for that.

Everything has been recorded, I will still get the film from that. It was an emotional moment for me, so I don't know yet whether I'll share it ;) But I can't wait to experience it again.

image.png
Me and Bram

When I look back at last Saturday I can't help but feel warm, so many beautiful people, lovely weather and the icing on the cake is my son playing for me...... And all those other beautiful gifts, I think Do people really think I'm an alcoholic or something hahaha...

image.png
The beers I've received

image.png
And the great Whisky's too

Have a great day you all, I know I will :)

Peter

Sort:  

How awesome! Happy Birthday! What a great and unexpected surprise! Wow, 70 people? I don't think I even know that many people let alone consider them close friends!

It really was, never expected that.. It was awesome !!

What a party! Congratulations. Some of my friends have musical birthdays.

You could do some posts in the whisky community about your gifts. I would hope they last you a while.

!BEER

Thanks Steve, and I will for sure, a lot of different bottles, so absolutely something to write about :)


Hey @verhp11, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.