Didn't see that comming

in GEMS8 months ago

A long time ago I posted about my childhood, how difficult it was and how it ended up being that I lost contact with my parents. That is still the case, although I occasionally see my father somewhere. My mother passed away 7 years ago and she was actually the instigator of the whole argument. My father always followed her like a tame lamb and therefore never intervened. A bit heavy intro for a special story.

As you have been able to see ad nauseam lately, I am under the spell of Abba :) . Triggered by my trip to Stockholm. As you have probably read, my mother infected me with the Abba virus. How surprised I was when my sister-in-law came to visit with a stack of Abba books. She had visited my father and then told me that I had been to the Abba musuem, he didn't hesitate for a moment and said that he still had a number of books from my mother that he would like to give to me. I think that, given the circumstances, is very special. I haven't been there I think for 17 years, no contact at all and yet he would like me to get the books. Even because it is a fond memory of my mother for him. Isn't that sweet?

The official photobook


image.png
This book tells the Abba story accompanied by a lot of (rare) photo's. It's a dutch translation of the original English book.

image.png

ABBA Autobiografisch

image.png
This is a Autobiography of the band and individual stories of them. With a lot of backgroud information.

image.png

Abba comicbook

image.png
This one I think is very funny, a real comic about Abba. For me a proof that at that time people saw a lot of potential (and money) in Abba. Cool isn't it.

image.png
At that time there wasn't a lot of tools to translate photo's into graphics, so I think someone has been very busy drawing :)

Abba, made in Sweden

image.png
A book with also a lot of background info about the members of the band. I haven't read them yet so I am currious if there is a lot of double information in the books.

Abba, for the record

image.png
This book is telling the behinds about the albums Abba made. Looking forward to reading it.

image.png
This picture is 'world famous', it's taken in a park in Stockholm. A similar bench was at the museum where you can take a picture just sitting on it.

as I said, I find it quite special that, despite we no longer have contact, my father still gave those books for me. Maybe an opening to get in touch again, as it used to be it will never be again, but just have to be able to have coffee together. He is elderly and ailing with his health, so perhaps the time to pick this up.

Anyway, I'm going to drop by this week to thank him and have a cup of coffee.

Have a great day,

Peter

Sort:  

Families can be strange at times. Just because we are related does not mean that we can get on. This is still a nice gesture by your father and I hope it helps matters.

That's a nice set of books. I'm sure masses of merchandise was produced for the band to cash in on their success. Maybe those have some value, but I'm sure you will keep them.

!BEER

Family indeed can be strange Steve, and you say it on spot. "Just because we are related does not mean we van get on", and thats indeed very much so. And who knows it will help. Indeed I will keep them, no matter what value. The value for me isn't in money :) Thanks !!!

That's pretty awesome! Who would have guessed there was an ABBA comic book! I was heading into work this morning and Chiquitita came on the radio. Can't help but dance along any time ABBA comes on! What a great momento. I can't speak to your situation at all. If his health is ailing though, you might want to at least try. Even if he doesn't respond or it doesn't go the way you had hoped, you can rest easy knowing you tried.

You're totally right Bozz, In fact I think he will respond positive. So I am going to visit him this week. Just for a coffee..We''ll see how it goes.

That's all you can do! Best of luck!

Hello dear friend @verhp11 good day
I appreciate that you have shared this very personal story, I am very sorry for the situation you have been through.
What a nice gesture from your father, who despite being distanced, has sent these beautiful specimens to me.
Thank you very much for sharing this with us

Thank you very much @jlufer

Congratulations @verhp11! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 95000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - August 2023 Winners List