It's Oscar time: What are your TOP 03 favourite Oscar winning movies?

in GEMS3 years ago

Well... As soon as I read this month's contest theme, I smiled from ear to ear (yeah, this is very serious... haha!). I'm absolutely crazy about Cinema (everything related to this has my attention) and talking about movies is always a pleasure for me. I can do this every single day and never get tired or bored.

However, making lists always gives me a feeling of "injustice" because I always have to leave great options out of the final cut (especially when it is as short as one that this contest requires). Choosing only three films was quite a mission, but I had a lot of fun. Now, let's go to my TOP 03!

#01. Casablanca (1942)

IMDb

Starring the trio Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman and Paul Henreid, the film focuses on an American exile, who during the Second World War finds refuge in a city called Casablanca, where he begins to manage a wild and fancy nightclub. When he finds an old crush (she is now married), he needs help to escape the group of nazis who are chasing him.

This is one of the most incredible movies I have ever had the opportunity to watch and it is also one of the indisputable proofs that old cinema will always have a great weight and like any movie of great impact, it serves as inspiration for future generations. Here, the narrative is very assertive, the script is excellent, the photography is beautiful and the direction of Michael Curtiz is incredible, everything works easily... One of the best movies of all time.

#02. Schindler's List (1993)

IMDb

Owner of a great influence within the Nazi party, the German Oskar Schindler saw in the Jewish workforce a perfect idea to profit from business during the war, and obtained the authorizations to open a factory. However, what appeared to be a purely capitalist idea has just turned into a true act of kindness and one of the most impressive attitudes in world history.

Directed spectacularly by master Steven Spielberg, the movie stars Liam Neeson (as the revolutionary who saved the lives of more than 1,000 jews during the German massacre), Ben Kingsley and Ralph Fiennes in excellent roles. Never, under any circumstances, has Seventh Art been able to portray a time as troubled and sad, in such a phenomenal and unforgettable way as in this movie. Literally, it is an exciting masterpiece... From the first to the last scene.

#03. Titanic (1997)

IMDb

Based on a true story, the movies follows the birth of a love story, which is socially controversial because it happens between a poor man and a rich woman in 1912. However, they are determined to live that love when they meet in inaugural voyage of the Titanic, a mega luxury ship, but which was destined for a tragic conclusion: to sink and kill many passengers.

First of all, I need to say that this film is tacky in many ways, but it is how the script manages to transform a "mushy" love story into a story that strongly criticizes social customs and prejudices, which still exist today, among different classes that make it such a good movie. But it probably wouldn't be on my list if it weren't for the sensational work of director James Cameron, who here delivers an impassive direction on a challenging and big project.

That's it folks! I hope you liked my TOP 03, because although it was great to have written about it, habing to choose only tree movies among so many other incredible movies over the years was a very difficult task.


This is my entry to the contest promoted by @yourtop3:

Your Top 3 Monthly Contest December 2020 - What Are Your Favorite Oscar Winning Movies?

Sort:  


Congratulations, @wiseagent Your Post Got 100% Boost By @hiveupme Curator.

upme.link

"Delegate To @hiveupme Curation Project & Earn 95% Curation Rewards"

Contact Us : CORE / VAULT Token Discord Channel or Join Us : UPMELINK Web Site

Thanks, @hiveupme.

Movies never disappoint as a topic! You landed on some awesome ones right out of the gate here. Titanic is a little cheesy, but it has enough redeeming qualities to make it worth a watch! Casablanca is one I always mean to sit down and watch all the way through, but haven't yet. I was just watching Funny Girl last night before bed when I saw it on, and it made me think I need to go back to the old classics because there really are some gems. Schindler's List is one I honestly don't think I watched despite how much acclaim it got. I have read so many books based on that period in history, but it can be gut-wrenching to see it on film. I think I will have to add it to the list, though, because what a stellar cast and crew.

Movies never disappoint as a topic!

No. NEVER! ;P

You landed on some awesome ones right out of the gate here.

Thanks, @plantstoplanks.

Hey, it’s Q here - the mascot of the Your Top 3 Contest - just swinging by to say thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! I've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on my blog for the dpoll post!

Make sure you set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the HP and then transfer the HIVE and/or HBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @yourtop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee, but you can add as much as you like to it! The more you add, the more you can win.There is no maximum entry fee.

Not sure how to find your post payout? Look in your Hive Wallet under Author Rewards to find the exact payout for your post. In the example below you would send the 0.011 HBD and 6.441 HIVE over to the @yourtop3 account as your entry fee. I take it from there and convert all of the prize pool to SBD for easy prize distribution at the end of the month!

image.png

Q

image.png

Ah the final entry from Mr @wiseagent to the contest! These are some pretty great choices and for a film buff like you, I'm pretty sure Q will be happy you were challenged with this month!

Titanic was pretty decent and they told the story of what really happened well, as did Schindler's List, another iconic movie and you're right about Casablanca! They really don't make them like that any more!

Good luck in the final month and thank you for being a consistent contender in the contest!

Since I discovered this contest, it has been a pleasure to participate in it (especially in movie editions, haha).

Thanks (to you, @nickyhavey and the whole team) for a such nice project.

Can't dispute with any of those three @wiseagent. Smooth selections.

Thanks, @dandays.

I hope to read your choices very soon.

I have never seen Casablanca, but I will keep it in mind and Shindler's list is for me the best movie in history and Titanic is the best according to critics and public but the banie because it is really very over power.