It's time to be scared: What are your TOP 03 favourite Halloween movies?

in GEMS4 years ago

When I read the contest proposal this month, I was very happy because it brings together two things I like: Movies and Halloween. So writing about it didn't take me long because I already had in mind exactly the three movies I was going to write about. Three unforgettable classics, which were able to add a true legacy within the universe of the Seventh Art (especially in the Horror / Suspense genre).

I'm pretty sure that you all know these three movies (because they are very popular) but it's a must for me to write about them because they really are some of my favorites to remember Halloween and all its significance. I couldn't participate this month if it weren't for writing about them and what they represent for that time. So, let's do this one more time!

#01. Halloween (1978)

IMDb

Starting this list without mentioning this movie is impossible for me, because if there is a movie that reflects the essence of Halloween, it's this classic that has this mission. Written and directed by John Carpenter, this movie brings with it all the atmosphere that fills this traditional party with a terrifying meaning, where fear and the rage is the one who dictates the rules in a wild night.

There is no other movie that has a DNA as strong for Halloween as this film because it was planned with the idea of ​​creating a new "setting" and gives a new meaning to the party. Michael Myers is the perfect example to make Halloween an unforgettable time and he does it through a powerful movie, full of tension and suspense... So, be ready to be scared all the time with a weight of silence that can stun you.

#02. Friday the 13th (1980)

IMDb

Talking about favorite Halloween movies and not mentioning this movie is also unthinkable to me because Jason Voorhees and his crazy and bloody legacy has already become a legend within horror movies. Directed by Sean S. Cunningham and written by Victor Miller, the horror in this movie does not stop and the suspense (which is quite great) has high doses of violence, a lot of blood and creative scenes.

Everyone knows or has heard of what this movie represents for Halloween and it is impossible that it will not be remembered (at least in my point of view), specifically at that time. So, grab your popcorn, get some friends together in a room with the lights off and get ready to have a special night... But, here comes an advice: Beware of the evil that can be out there (and very close to you).

#03. A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

IMDb

Closing my TOP 03 this month, I will include this classic that was written and directed by the incredible Wes Craven (which is one of my favorite directors) and brings Fred Krueger as a villain who is able to enter your dreams, terrify you and kill you in the real world. During Halloween this movie is often remembered for the weight and significance it has within the horror cinema.

The concept of this movie is extremely immersive and built with a tension network that catches the viewer's attention from the beginning (and continues like this until its epic ending). The perfect example of horror cinema made with a skillful perspective (something innovative at the time of its launch), quality and commitment to what really has the power to scare viewers anywhere in the world.

So... That's it folks! I hope you enjoyed my recommendations this month because writing about them was very pleasant for me. These are three classic movies that everyone should watch someday (at least once in their life).


This is my entry to the contest promoted by @yourtop3:

Your Top 3 Monthly Contest October 2020 - What Are Your Favourite Halloween Movies?

Sort:  

Call me old fashioned but anything Freddy Kruger, Jason, or Chucky related rocks.

I generally only watch horror films in October with the rare exception. But last Halloween I watched a movie called Hell House LLC and it REALLY gave me the heebie geebies. It was kind of a Blair Witch type movie about a group of young entrepreneurs that create a Halloween seasonal haunted house experience only to find out that the house is really haunted. The movie kept me up at night for like a week and any time I think about it... Man now I'm not going to able to sleep tonight!

You didn't waste any time this month getting your entry in haha! Some classic names there in the Halloween movie scene with so many to choose from!

I agree about Nightmare on Elm Street, that's some dark shit, not to be watched when you're a child unless you want to have nightmares for months! I've not seen the other two as scary movies aren't really my thing so even I'm going to struggle to write a Panel's entry this month!

Let's see how you do this month Mr @wiseagent! Good luck!

Hey, it’s Q here - the mascot of the Your Top 3 Contest - just swinging by to say thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! I've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on my blog for the dpoll post!

Make sure you set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the HP and then transfer the HIVE and/or HBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @yourtop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee, but you can add as much as you like to it! The more you add, the more you can win.There is no maximum entry fee.

Not sure how to find your post payout? Look in your Hive Wallet under Author Rewards to find the exact payout for your post. In the example below you would send the 0.011 HBD and 6.441 HIVE over to the @yourtop3 account as your entry fee. I take it from there and convert all of the prize pool to SBD for easy prize distribution at the end of the month!

image.png

Q

image.png

Hey, it’s Q here - the mascot of the Your Top 3 Contest - just swinging by to say thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! I've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on my blog for the dpoll post!

Make sure you set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the HP and then transfer the HIVE and/or HBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @yourtop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee, but you can add as much as you like to it! The more you add, the more you can win.There is no maximum entry fee.

Not sure how to find your post payout? Look in your Hive Wallet under Author Rewards to find the exact payout for your post. In the example below you would send the 0.011 HBD and 6.441 HIVE over to the @yourtop3 account as your entry fee. I take it from there and convert all of the prize pool to SBD for easy prize distribution at the end of the month!

image.png

Q

image.png

Nice ones, all classics :) nightmare on elm street scared the shit out of me when I was a kid :)

I couldn't imagine a Halloween movie list without these three on there, so thanks for making sure they made it to the polls! My best friend in high school lived for scary movies. I have seen these three multiple times over, though often looking out from behind my fingers. She especially loved Friday the 13th. Though we did have a good laugh at the 3D one since we were too young to see it in theaters and only saw it later without the actual benefit of 3D glasses. I think that was maybe the 4th Friday the 13th movie? Some of them get a little too silly the longer they try to milk the series, but you can't beat the originals for the pure thrill of a spine-chilling scary movie experience. Good luck in the contest this month!