The most important thing is to be understood.

in GEMS4 years ago

This publication was also written in SPANISH and PORTUGUESE.

Dignited

We live in an increasingly globalized and technology-filled world, so it is easy to conclude that we all need to adapt to the scenarios that are being presented to us along the way. Culturally speaking, one of the most complicated barriers tends to be the language and as English is the most widely spoken (and required) language in the world, naturally the population searches for that language more quickly.

Learning to speak a new language is not easy because it requires a lot of attention, willpower and many hours of study. Of course, the level of difficulty depends exclusively on what people want to learn, but it is a fact to say that being able to communicate in another language is a complicated task. Speaking specifically about me, English is not my mother tongue (I am Brazilian, so I do Portuguese), but I always liked the sound and because of that I decided to study that language... And I still do it today.

I don't see it as an obligation because it is something I really like, but I remember that initially, I was very perfectionist in learning and always demanded a lot from me (as if I would ever reach perfection), but over time I realized that one of the best ways to learn a new language is to make mistakes and accept my own limitations (like an accent, for example). Once aware of this, things started to flow better and learning became easier.

Another very important factor that helped me (and continues to help me today) to understand what it is to study another language is the fact that it is best not to try to be perfect (speaking or writing, for example), but to be understood when I talk about my concepts, my ideas or my thoughts. Of course, this sometimes makes communication a little less fluid... But the goals are achieved, so I am satisfied.

Finally, another piece of advice on learning a new language is to always be willing to learn. The pace of learning is very particular and it is you yourself who ends up defining how long you will be able to learn a new language at the level you want... It is a very personal goal and will only be achieved when you really want to. Think about it because even though the journey is a little long, the learning process is well worth it!


Lo más importante es ser entendido.

Vivimos en un mundo cada vez más globalizado y lleno de tecnología, por lo que es fácil concluir que todos debemos adaptarnos a los escenarios que se nos van presentando en el camino. Culturalmente hablando, una de las barreras más complicadas tiende a ser el idioma y como el inglés es el idioma más hablado (y requerido) en el mundo, naturalmente la población busca ese idioma más rápidamente.

Aprender a hablar un nuevo idioma no es fácil porque requiere mucha atención, fuerza de voluntad y muchas horas de estudio. Por supuesto, el nivel de dificultad depende exclusivamente de lo que la gente quiera aprender, pero es un hecho decir que poder comunicarse en otro idioma es una tarea complicada. Hablando específicamente de mí, el inglés no es mi lengua materna (soy brasileño, entonces hago portugués), pero siempre me gustó el sonido y por eso decidí estudiar ese idioma... Y todavía lo hago hoy.

No lo veo como una obligación porque es algo que me gusta mucho, pero recuerdo que al principio fui muy perfeccionista en el aprendizaje y siempre exigí mucho de mí (como si alguna vez fuera a alcanzar la perfección), pero con el tiempo Me di cuenta de que una de las mejores formas de aprender un nuevo idioma es cometer errores y aceptar mis propias limitaciones (como el acento, por ejemplo). Una vez consciente de esto, las cosas empezaron a fluir mejor y el aprendizaje se hizo más fácil.

Otro factor muy importante que me ayudó (y me sigue ayudando hoy) a entender qué es estudiar otro idioma es el hecho de que lo mejor es no intentar ser perfecto (hablando o escribiendo, por ejemplo), sino ser entendido cuando Hablo de mis conceptos, mis ideas o mis pensamientos. Por supuesto, esto a veces hace que la comunicación sea un poco menos fluida... Pero los objetivos se logran, así que estoy satisfecho.

Finalmente, otro consejo para aprender un nuevo idioma es estar siempre dispuesto a aprender. El ritmo de aprendizaje es muy particular y eres tú mismo quien acaba definiendo cuánto tiempo vas a poder aprender un nuevo idioma al nivel que quieras... Es un objetivo muy personal y solo lo conseguirás cuando realmente quieras. Piénselo porque aunque el viaje es un poco largo, ¡el proceso de aprendizaje vale la pena!


O mais importante é ser compreendido.

Nós vivemos em um mundo cada vez mais globalizado e repleto de tecnologias, então, é fácil concluir que todos nós precisamos nos adequar aos cenários que vão sendo apresentados para nós ao longo do caminho. Culturalmente falando, uma das barreiras mais complicadas tende a ser o idioma e como o Inglês a língua mais falada (e requisitada) no mundo, naturalmente à população procura por esse idioma mais rapidamente.

Aprender a falar uma nova língua não é fácil porque requer muita atenção, força de vontade e muitas horas de estudo. É claro que o nível de dificuldade depende exclusivamente do que as pessoas querem aprender, mas é um fato dizer que estar apto a se comunicar em um outro idioma é uma tarefa complicada. Falando especificamente sobre mim, o Inglês não é a minha língua materna (eu sou brasileiro, então eu faço Português), mas eu sempre gostei do som e por causa disso eu decidi estudar esse idioma... E faço isso até hoje.

Eu não vejo isso como uma obrigação porque é algo que eu realmente gosto, mas eu lembro que inicialmente, eu era muito perfeccionista no aprendizado e sempre exigia muito de mim (como se algum dia eu fosse alcançar a perfeição), mas ao longo do tempo eu fui percebendo que um dos melhores jeitos de aprender uma nova língua é errando e aceitando às minhas próprias limitações (como o sotaque, por exemplo). Uma vez consciente disso, as coisas começaram a fluir melhor e o aprendizado se tornou mais fácil.

Outro fator muito importante que me ajudou (e continua me ajudando até hoje) a compreender o que é estudar outro idioma é o fato de que o melhor não é tentar ser perfeito (falando ou escrevendo, por exemplo), mas sim, ser compreendido quando eu falo sobre os meus conceitos, as minhas ideias ou os meus pensamentos. É claro que isso às vezes torna à comunicação um pouco menos fluída... Mas os objetivos são alcançados, então, eu fico satisfeito.

Por fim, outro conselho sobre aprender um novo idioma é sempre estar disposto a aprender. O ritmo de aprendizado é muito particular e é você mesmo quem acaba definindo em quanto tempo você vai conseguir aprender um novo idioma no nível que você deseja... É um objetivo muito pessoal e que só será alcançado quando você realmente quiser. Pensem nisso porque mesmo que a jornada seja um pouco longa, o processo de aprendizagem vale muito à pena!

Sort:  

This post is shared to Twitter in support of @ocd and @ocdb's #posh initiative.