March Bullet Journal Calendar Layout - Ice and Fire Theme

in GEMSlast year

March bujo thumbnail.jpg

Hello everyone! Today I am going to share how I did my March calendar layout in my bullet journal. I would have posted this yesterday itself but it was time consuming to get it done.

Usually I chose the monthly themes based on the events of the month. So in March we have Women's Day and Holi festival. However, I chose not to do both as I have already done colourful theme which relates to Holi festival and I didn't have suitable washi tapes for Women's Day.

Ice and Fire

I chose the theme of Ice and Fire as I watched the Game of Thrones series and I liked the concept of contradicting elements. The television series is based on the novel series called 'A Song of Ice and Fire'. I really liked the contrast and wanted to do something based on this theme. By the way, if you ever want to watch the series, I am warning you that there is a lot of adult content like violence and brutality. It could be disturbing but it does have an interesting plot with many twists.

My March Bujo Layout


IMG_20230311_114339.jpg

I drew the basic outline of the calendar with a HB pencil. I was surprised to see that this month's starts with Wednesday, again, just like last month.

IMG_20230311_115540.jpg

Since my theme is ice and fire I chose colours in the shades of red and blue. These are more than 7 so I had to shortlist them further and pick 7 of my favourites for all the days of the week.

IMG_20230311_122944.jpg

Finally, I chose these colours and wrote the days of the week on each washi tape strip. I used a black gel pen to write them and had to keep them like this to give them some time to dry.

IMG_20230311_123102.jpg

In the meantime of waiting for the plain tapes to dry, I selected some designed washi tape sets for the decoration. Usually people use stickers for this but since I am on a small budget, I get washi tapes with images printed on them like this. That allows me to double them as both borders and stickers.

IMG_20230311_185157.jpg

I cut the images like this. Now they look just like regular stickers. Half of them are red while the others are blue. Also, I just noticed they spelled 'blue' wrong on the last strip of tape :( I will probably never use that or cut them into individual alphabets and rearrange to form the correct spelling if I have a lot of time on my hands.

IMG_20230311_192246.jpg

This is how I did my decoration. I pasted them all over the calendar layout and created a blue-red combo. I used only large images this time and didn't use any small images like I usually do.

IMG_20230311_193342.jpg

The names of the days have dried out so I pasted them on top of each column. Now I can press on them without worrying about smudging the ink.

IMG_20230311_195012.jpg

This is my notes section comprising of important things I need to get done in the month. I used blue because the days ended with red. I added a food picture in red because I am a foodie, followed by a short shopping list of the things I need/want in this month. The three washi tapes are the sets I used for this section.

IMG_20230311_200146.jpg

I wrote the name of the month using highlighters in the colours of the them and did some hearts design around them.

IMG_20230311_200201.jpg

This is the name of the theme. I used purple in the middle because it is a mix of red and blue. I also drew a little fire on the right. I used contrasting colours to draw bubbles in the background.

IMG_20230311_202046.jpg

At last, I wrote the numbers of the days in an orange glitter pen. I used neither of the colours of the theme because I thought whichever colour I choose will dominate the entire layout. I also filled in the memories of the month and events. This is the final outcome. Phew, that took so long to get done.


97719b4a9a723a83f19611fc740a6605040d4cba8e4015f3026bce21ed6c9df8.0.gif

I tried to recreate Daenerys who is the main character of the series, by giving my Bitmoji girl the Targaryen hair which is silver in colour. I also used the red and blue colours on her clothes and headpiece. It was fun to do this. Thank you for dropping by and I wish that you have a great day ahead :)

Sort:  

I'm amazed on how much effort your gave creating a journal. Keep it up!

Thank you. It is my favourite hobby. I enjoy making them and journal almost daily 😊