Happy World Goth Day my darklings (22nd of May): Hello Darkness my old friend

in GEMS11 months ago (edited)

RAVEN -1080- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

Hello, my Darklings
It's been a while and I will post the following days as of why with updates but didn't wan to miss to tell you that today 22nd of May is World Goth day. It has been celebrated since 2009 as it originated on a discussion on a radio show and since then it was set as the date to celebrate the gothic subculture and its unique contributions to art, music, fashion, and literature. Despite being a recent celebration it has grown to become a global phenomenon because we are legion. Lots of us have undergone a moody dark while and those shadows lurk within sometimes. It never really leaves me and resurfaces now and then
This is a date that resonates with the souls who find solace in shadows and embrace the ethereal melodies that haunt their hearts. This date honors the spirit of gothic culture and invites all to indulge in its enchanting haunting and mystical allure. It is something that goes beyond the aesthetics and reading Poe and this is something I want to emphasize, it's not about the looks.
So let's paint it black and hello darkness my old friend

Here are some of my favorite dark looks through the years

I have also made a youtube playlist with all my dark songs together, but some of them are only on spotify. As background to this post I wanted to share my song "THE UNDERLIVING"

My youtube playlist with dark music (my own)

E2BVOCpWQAEHnZS.jpg

Embracing our shadows

Today many are gathered in their passion for art, literature, fashion, and music that defies conventional norms. It is a date to discover new acts within this current, wether they are writers, illustrators or musicians like myself.

witchautumn -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

E2BVdk0WYAEjc_R.jpg


yidneth goth -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

worldgothday -1080- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

london.jpg

It is not only present in my looks and music sometimes but also in my art. This is my drawing for my song "Nothing"

Nothing  - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com) - Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

You can see the music video here:

image.png
As always I will upvote all significant feedback and comments

Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com

Sort:  

Itsy Bitsy Spider was awesome. I really enjoyed that!

Aw thanks, I love to revisit some children or traditional with a spooky spin, it was fun to film and two of the spiders in the video actually lived in my room for months

They all are really good, very very gothic

but of all, this one is my favorite

Alive yet but dead tired sometimes I am :) glad you like it