My "Suuri Tammi" (Big Oak): A lesson of endurance and strength that I hope you find motivating + Mighty mystical Oaks in my region (Old Sentinels)

in GEMS2 years ago (edited)

I've cared for a Baby Tree Oak since 2016. This Summer it was ravaged by the scorch of the heatwaves but I had to learn a lesson of strength from it. And this is the story. I hope you find it hopeful and motivational.

The "son" of a legendary Oak tree

kisulabe -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

I collected the acorn from Kisulabe in Autumn 2016. Kisulabe is a very ancient and dying oak, but still somehow produces acorns, so I collected a couple with the hope of "perpetuating" him. After all they in life you must plant at least one tree. Five years later it is still on a big pot but I hope one day I can move and plant it in my own yard. It is outgrowing too fast though.

This is a picture of me visiting Kisulabe. I'm standing by the trunk which is the widest in my region.

44053658_10156099915429635_6878325824588611584_n.jpg

I brough and acorn home and I gave a try
And life is miraculous so the miracle indeed happened

suuritami.jpg
This is Suuri Tammi in April, 2017 when I filmed it to be part of my video GROW. He was also the inspiration for the logo for that music video. The pillbug roly poly appeared also along with it and we named her Kokeneli, it lived in the pot for up to three years :) I used to call her "Suuri Tammi's guardian"

baby suuritami.jpg

I called the little seedling "Suuri Tammi" which means big oak in Finnish.
This is a picture of my "big oak" on April, 2016

61126501_10156558171074635_68284787390939136_n.jpg

Oak, a symbol of strength

The world tree comes from proto-Indoeuropean Drys, which literally means oak. Green used the same root and taht's why the spirit of the trees are called "Dryads". In many cultures Oaks are considered sacred and a symbol of strength and endurance. Celts believed Trees connected to the Otherworld. Each Ogham rune names after a tree. DUIR, the OAK, most sacred, is the 7th 🌳of the Ogham alphabet & symbolizes strength (also to speak the truth)

oak.jpg

Being considered the most sacred of trees, it was believed to be also a portal to the Otherworld. And sometimes you stumble upon hollow Oaks that look exactly like so.

Summer 2022, Heatwaves scorched my little Oak: A lesson about thriving

As many know, this Summer in Europe has been awfully hot and we have faced one of the worse (ongoing) droughts of our history. Creeks run dry, and leaves showcase a muted. Grass has turned yellow and the land is thirsty.
I keep my plants at a little terrace but with it has no awning to provide shade so we had to improvise with sheets and a folding clothesline to make a tent that we would movie as the sun would move to provide some shelter from the bleaching light. And there was a day where temperature reached 44 degrees Celsius and nothing could be done as I cannot move it. The sun scorched on the edges
This is how it started on that day

The dull non tender edges soon became fully brown and it was obvious those leaves were far too gone

FYJ8AGmXgAACTpQ -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

Looking for information online those leaves are in fact doomed to die and be shed, just like it happens in Autumn, it makes no sense for the plant to "feed" them and it signals the hormones for them to fall. But meanwhile it's a good advice to leave them be as somehow those burnt leaves act as a natural shade for the ones that were not damaged.
Suuri Tammi, my wee oak was in very bad shape, it barely had any leaf left that were tender and green.

IMG_20220719_211118 -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

IMG_20220731_194301 -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

I thought it wouldn't make it... but I still had a lesson to learn from it

A few days after they started to fall

leaves.jpg

And with no green leaves and still very hot conditions I felt it was going to die.

Having no awning we had to improvise some shades with folding clothespins and bed sheets and cautiously move it during the day so he would be protected from the sun at all times. Whenever it was more cloudy we would uncover because of course it needed the light. It was an exercise of hope and patience

And it had its reward...

It started to sproud new leaves
newleaf -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

On every branch and knot, it was like it wanted to explore all possibilities... It's never had so many leaves before.
And with constant care it was as lush as it's ever been.
I wonder now that Fall is near if this may have messed its "cycle" because I did not expect it would renew entirely in August already.

Lessons learned

Sometimes you just have to endure.
I have not been in good shape this Summer, that's why I haven't posted much around. I have been working on so many things and failing to get them finished. I have struggled a lot with sleep and fatigue and even motivation. Proof is that I haven't posted much because I have felt drained and overwhelmed...
Yet, we thrive...
We thrive...
And so Suuri Tammi taught me this lesson

These are Suuri Tammi new leaves all grown and healthy.
With one month caring to water every day and keeping in in the shade whenever sun was too strong. It has required constant monitoring but he made it.

IMG_20220812_190539 -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

All those trees so tall were once tiny seeds
that stood against the strongest winds
and keep thriving shade or sheen

suuritammi -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

leaf -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

Remember...

Dare to hope

Some mighty Old Oaks in my region

I hope oone day "Suuri Tammi" becomes as big as its father, a sentinel of the seasons. After all its name means "big oak" so this is what it's meant to be.
And now I know what Oaks are a symbol of strength
Here are some pictures of some of the centennial Oaks in my region

Jauntsarats Oakwoods

15337171_233169140446728_8963353711732588544_n -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

Lizarraga Oak

lizarraga oak.jpg

Orkin Oak

orkin.jpg

Orgi Forest Oakwoods

image.png

Do you have a garden or plants? How have they fend this hot Summer?

Support me following on my network. Sígueme en las redes

Please comment to encourage. I will upvote every meaningful feedback with proof of reading
Until next! And thanks for your support!

Be strong like an oak


61126501_10156558171074635_68284787390939136_n.jpg

Above: Oak bar texture

I have another "thriving" story this Summer

Besides this little Oak fairytale that I hope you find hopeful and inspiring, there is another example of endurace that has affected me this Summer. A little bird that has made it against all odds and I'll share "her" story in a forthcoming post

And stay tuned, new music video coming this week and of course I shall share a blog post here

Here is a sneak peek, so come stop by my blog this week

jura.gif

Meanwhile Suuri Tammi was featured here in this video


And even inspired the logo I painted for it... and now you know the story and what it symbolises
logo-grow-transparente-1080-1 -640- by Priscilla Hernandez.jpg

Keep growing, folks!
Until next! This time very soon :) I have something almost ready

Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com

Sort:  

Oak trees are so magnificent. I have several oaks that I would call friends, and every time I hold an acorn in the palm of my hand, I can feel its potency. 💖

Indeed they are teaching me about strength and resilience. I am not feeling that well, my sweet dragon princess, but I observe and learn nature's lesson. I have another Summer story to share, as a sparrow with atrophic wings has become the queen in the garden.

And I feel the same, when I see acorns. All trees were once fruits and seeds.

Love the story about your little oak and am glad he survived. And the video is simply beautiful, photography and music.

Yes, the video I had shared before, it means a lot to me in many ways. Though stay tuned a new blog post / video is coming later today.
And I wanted to share my little oak's story, it almost perished in the scorch of Summer, but it's thriving now

Hey great post and beautiful song 🌳🍃

Thankyou, most appreciated

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!