You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No Mow May and exploring the folklore, Legends, Culinary Delights, and ecological importance of Nettle Patches

in GEMS • last year

Well it is for sure a not very conventional way to get plump lips 👄 lol 😂
Little critters did not mind
Ps. I collected with gloves but then before cooking I forgot and washed them with bare hands
therapeutical at least haha

Sort:  

I discovered nettles the hard way when I was just a kid. Wasn't a fun experience but I learned a lot about plants that day.

There are a few varieties in Canada but I haven't tested to see which one stings the hardest.

I'll use long scissors and snip the leaves avoiding the stem entirely, letting them fall into a pail. Usually ready before the garden is in Canada.

Hahah I've found myself having to get cross to nettle patches (well, unprepared) so I'm familiar with the sting. It hasn't killed us :) hahah but it's not pleasant LOL, maybe a bit of a tingle. I use gloves, I don't have patience for the scissors but also only pick some of the tenderest leaves and leave stem and plant be :) for other critters to enjoy.