You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trump says - "Today will be Big Day for Social Media and FAIRNESS"

in GEMS4 years ago

Funnily enough that leaves the question why stimulus checks were sent...

Well, he was looking at low interest rates and more capital spending to boost the economy before the pandemic. Now, he's pushing for negative rates, and looking to capitalise even more on that, especially with the outbreak having pushed the economy to a halt. A proper Covid-19 response didn't fit his agenda, but stimulus did, so...

Sort:  

I've never understood negative rates... Here negative rates are against constitution, so all banks are pushing for zero rate instead...

I'm not sure about how the laws are where you're from, but negative rates can be a double edged sword. Fortunately, I haven't had the displeasure of having to experience that, but if it does, then it's a good time to start pumping more into crypto.

Finnish constitution and laws are pretty much unintelligible... Constitution itself gives just basic principles and leaves details to be defined by individual laws...

Chapter 2 Section 15 of Finnish constitution declares that property of individual citizen is protected.

Also, chapter 15 section 6 of law regarding activities of financial institutions declares citizens have right to basic banking services without undue expenses.

This means in practice that any action or fee of the bank can't result in negative balance of the account.

In that context, it's a good thing, no? This means the bank can't f**k you over with huge fees and surging interests that you have to pay for depositing money, instead of the other way around.

They can still charge high fees as long as it doesn't cause the balance to go negative... Some of my bank accounts have had zero balance for over a decade... I just keep them around for days when I need to give balance sheets to government. It makes me look better if I send them 18 pages of zero balance instead of sending three pages showing all my crypto and stock purchases, and sells..

Ah, you cheeky fellow 😉. I got you... I genuinely don't know much about Malaysia's banking laws, but it's certainly nowhere near bulletproof, as the news have caught on over the years. Though at least it's not as troublesome as some other countries.

It's usually quite easy to predict when we are required to submit balance sheets as it is usually same month every year or every two years... So I sell all my stocks and withdraw all money a month before and only keep enough to pay the bills... Then a month after I buy the stocks back... As long as I don't get more than 900 EUR profit each year from selling the stocks, it's not illegal to manipulate the balance sheets...