Bokashi.. smartest, fastest composting?

in CLEAN PLANET2 years ago

Hi fellow hivers,

Today's topic is Bokashi. What is that? It's simply composting, through fermentation, and can be done in days, not months like traditional composting. It also can turn meats, dairy, and even small bones into rich compost..

bokashi-1024x636.jpg

(this is the simplest chart I could find to explain it.. from https://www.humboldtseeds.net/en/blog/a-guide-for-preparing-your-own-bokashi)

Here's another one that is a little more detailed..

image.png

(this one from https://bokashicompost.be/home-en)

Bokashi is popular and from Japan. (in case u couldn't get that from the name :) The reason I chose it was 1. like most Japanese who live in a small apt and don't have room for big compost piles, I live in a small house and don't really have the yard space, nor the mobility or time/effort to compost the more traditional way, and 2. a big one for me was that bokashi can compost meat and dairy and just about any food waste (even bones).. so no sorting needed really. 3. it's also much faster that composting the old way and who has time (or the desire) to deal with watering, turning, layering, etc. oh, and 4. the process is anaerobic, meaning without air, so the buckets have air-tight lids and u should only add more waste once per day.

Screenshot_33.png

This is what I got. It comes with everything needed. The only 'downside' is I will have to get more bokashi bran (like sawdust impregnated with the tiny microbes that eat the waste and turn it into compost) eventually, but this set comes with a good supply. (u use 1 bag per bucketfull, I think it is)

There are tons of vids on youtube about Bokashi method or just do a search. It solves a waste problem that I have at my house (and frees up some freezer space since my wife HATES maggots, so will put all food waste into containers and freeze them, only throwing them out just before trash pickup) Plus, I do try to do right by the planet when I can, even if it cost me a bit of money, time, effort, or whatever..

:)

20220916_110702.jpg

ps. It came with the manual to explain the process step by step, a flaterer tool to press the waste down and get the air out, and even a bright green apron! to u know, look cool while composting!

Sort:  

Glad to see you care about the environment
keep up being green :)

!PIZZA

😊😎🤙🌳🌳🍃🌞

A good way to help the enviornment @chinito! I've only heard of Bokashi but in a water treatment setting.

😉😎🤙 oh yea? i never heard of it being used for that, but it does make great sense..

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@dadspardan(1/20) tipped @chinito (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.