My favorite workout; cultivating soil

I had written a post about today's community dramas and resolutions, starring my room mate, the host, and myself, but I think it's been enough of those things and I'm just going to share with you today's work which was quite fun. If anyone is interested in the drama though ask me in the comments and I'll share with you what I wrote 🤭

Finally, some building! These days had been mainly mowing grass and pulling out plants that don't go along with the agricultural program, which wasn't a lot of fun.

Here we made a simple structure for vermiculture. It was basically just stacking branches and logs, and securing them with stakes at the corners. Nothing fancy, but it works.

Then a big plastic sheet and that's it, good to go, or "presto" as they say here in Brasil.

Then it's time to load it up. There's a lot of grass clippings in the process of composting here which I had to load up on the wagon. Since I'm in quest for becoming stronger, it was a great workout which I did very consciously of my body and the muscles I was using.

When feeling tired, I would increase the intensity and breath more, getting a refreshing second wind. I swear, I don't understand why people go to the gym where the waste resources, instead of farming which creates more wealth.

I even did some extra time and filled up two and a half wagons. Lots of organic matter to feed that soil, and those tasty veggies.

Afterwards it was necessary to put everything in the structure we built earlier. More workout.

I feel a lot of muscle pain right now, but the good one, the satisfying feel when you know you're not hurt, just getting stronger 💪

Good night and thanks for existing

Sort:  

I swear, I don't understand why people go to the gym where the waste resources, instead of farming which creates more wealth.

One time I was walking between stores, doing my grocery and pet supplies shopping, wheeling my little granny cart full of groceries from the first store. In-between there and the pet store I was going to was a gym with those big windows facing the street where they had exercise bikes and treadmills. As I was walking by, the people on the bikes and treadmills were STARING at me like I was a total weirdo? It's rare in this state to not have a car, so I get a lot of stares and commentary about it, but all I could think was: instead of wasting gas driving to the gym, and wasting electric using the treadmill and whatever else you're doing in there, only to drive home again after, and still need to do your errands at some point, I am walking for cardio and weight lifting by hauling my groceries a few miles (my granny cart tilts like a dolly cart, so you're not just pushing it, you have the weight at an angle). AND I'm getting my errands done. And I'm not paying for the privilege of working out. Sooooooo. I think I win. ;)

Exactly! This world is upside down 🤪

Good that you didn't focus on the drama and shared this instead.

I feel one of the reasons for our suffering is that we tend to mainly focus on other people's and our own drama - that's what people mainly tend to share with each other - thus making it bigger and manifesting more of it.

I recently heard that most people go to the gym out of a guilty conscience over paying for a membership, thus creating a feeling of guilt.

I never had a gym membership, no matter how many years I lived in cities.

Outdoor activity beats them all 💪✨

Yeah, though the drama led to some valuable lessons and there was agreement at the end.

As they say: "the problem is not the problem. The problem is how you react to the problem".

And the gym guilt. Jeez, that's another level of crazy, but we all have our insanity so hope they get something good out of it

I would go just to feast my eyes and meet girls, but then again I hate being that guy so no thank you haha

 22 days ago  

@tipu curate